What NOT to Wear at the Gym….

Posted: January 15, 2014 in Life, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Remember the time you went to workout and saw the lady with the 80’s fitness gear on….only to notice (and feel badly for) her boobs are hanging out….?

No?  Oh wait, that’s because it wasn’t you – it was me – and it happened yesterday.  :-/

Need a picture?  (it took so much of me to NOT take a picture of this lady)…..

Like these – only she wasn’t wearing a bra….and she didn’t fill it out quite like the people in this picture…..

Now – before you all go getting upset about me being judgmental…..that’s not the case.  I truly felt bad for her.  People were snickering at the gym.  I was just doin my thing on the treadmill.  If that’s what she wants to wear – more power to her for feeling confident enough to do it.

I did, however, start to make a list in my head of things people should probably NOT wear to the gym.

How many of you have seen people at the gym in jeans?  Or even sandals?  Don’t lie – you know you have….

Obviously, you should workout in whatever you feel most comfortable in….but that doesn’t mean it’s the best.  Workout clothes are designed to help your skin breathe.  All of those sports clothing manufacturers don’t employ people to think of new technology to help with clothing and comfort for nothing…..I’m just sayin’.

So here is my list of no-no’s for gym attire – at least – if you’re actually at the gym to WORK OUT…..

1.  I think this goes without saying but – Jeans.

First of all – it’s one thing to go to the gym for a quick 20 minutes and “pump some iron” and I can see the reasonability if you really don’t have time to change your clothes but if you are going to the gym between the hours of 6am and 8am or 4pm and 8pm on a weeknight…..you are probably not too jammed for time.

This chick didn’t even change her top OR shoes!

2.  Which leads me to my next no-no:  Dress shoes and/or sandals.

Now listen, there ARE some sandals that people can wear to run/cross train.  Heck, there are even sandals that can be worn when biking.  But really?  REALLY.  What is this all about?  You find sandals and/or dress shoes more comfortable than sneakers?  Don’t even get me started on the ladies who I’ve seen wandering around the gym in high heels.  Oh – it happens.

Ladies….WHY?!?!!

Here’s a combo of BOTH!

3.  Wearing anything that doesn’t breathe.

One would certainly hope that when you are heading to the gym, the goal is to sweat – even just a little.  The good thing is that there are plenty of lower cost breathable clothes out there (Thank you, Target!)  When I first started to workout – I didn’t like clothes that “stuck to me”.  I tended to wear a lot of cotton t-shirts and mesh shorts.  While there is nothing wrong with that outfit combo – I found a few issues with it:  1.  I am a heavy sweater (wool, in fact!) and because of this – my t-shirt would end up soaked.  If I wanted to lift after a run, I’d have to go change my shirt and/or I’d get cold really easily.  2.  The sweat lines were unsightly – let’s be real here, no one wants to see your sweat stains.  3.  I found myself rolling up my shirts or pulling down my shorts because everything was just a bit out of place.  As a result – I turned to tight fitting workout clothes that were incredibly breathable and it was AWESOMESAUCE!

Not Pictured: ME – plus I don’t look like ANY of these people in real life

4.  MAKEUP/BIG JEWELRY/HEAVY PERFUME

OHHHHHHH doggy.  Are you ready for this one?  This is listed under my pet peeves.  WOMEN or men (I don’t judge) who wear makeup to the gym.  WHAT. ARE. YOU. DOING?!  First of all, it’s really bad for your skin to wear makeup and then sweat….do you know what that does to your pores??  Hellllllooooo blackheads.  Also….why?  Just……WHY?????  I think I basically make my point with these two pictures:

So now my questions for you are:

Did I miss anything?

What bothers you at the gym?

What would you have done with the lady in the 80’s gear?  I mean, no lie – I could see her boobies…..no lie.

 

Comments
  1. Shannon says:

    Haha…I’m not sure what I would have done….people can be really defensive and sometimes it’s just not worth getting involved. The sad thing is that she actually put at least a bit of thought into her “outfit” and figured it was alright, LOL!

    My biggest pet peeve is the perfume or cologne or even heavily scented detergent (Gain!). People are breathing heavily at the gym and to get a huge whiff of some chemical scent is awful and can even be a health concern for some people. I never understand why people dress up and/or makeup and perfume at the gym….obv there for a different reason than the rest of us!

    • k8efitz says:

      Shannon – I know! She got ready for the gym and was like, “Imma look good in this!” lol 🙂

      And agreed – I don’t understand the make up thing…like if there is someone there that’s cute when they workout – I feel like they’re not working hard enough…you know?

  2. Kirsten Sheen says:

    OMG I 100% agree with ALL of this and I have seen it all on the gym. How about the tragically-hip dudes who work out wearing one of those winter skull caps on their heads? I see this ALL the time. Someone said it’s to keep the sweat out of their eyes. Um, yeah, but we are talking THICK WINTER wool caps. You look like morons. And those hats are keeping the heat in and making you sweat MORE! Okay, I’m done…for now…

    • k8efitz says:

      Sheenie – YES! Seriously, I don’t get those guys either. It’s like – dude, you’re not cool….you’re just not. So glad we share the same perspective about this 🙂

  3. Matt says:

    People who sit on machines and text while you’re waiting to get on the machine!

Leave a Reply

