But I’m too tired……

Posted: January 14, 2014 in Life, Running, Spinning, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Subject for discussion:  Working Out When You’re Tired

Question:  Yes or No?

Obviously there is some debate.  In my experience, I’ve found that I always feel better after a workout – even if I am tired.  But then there is the double edged sword – you could make yourself more tired and then not be able to do it the next.  OR there is always the possibility that you go to workout, even when you’re tired, and can’t work as hard as you’d like.

Thoughts???

People who know me well know that I don’t take many days off – I do better at scheduling them in now than I used to but there is something about having done a workout that gives me a sense of accomplishment that I can’t get anywhere else.

Some days, I am just incredibly tired.

Some days, I start to feel tired as the day winds down.

Some days, I am anxious to get in my workout.

Lately, it’s been the second of the three.  Thankfully.

When it’s the first of these three, I typically will not exercise that day.  Usually this occurs at the end of the day.

When it’s the second of these three, I typically go to the gym and tell myself “if I still don’t want to do this after 2 miles, I will stop”…..I usually don’t stop.

If it’s the last of these three, I am usually running somewhere after school or doing a double workout.

Yesterday….it was a combination of #2 – which led to #3.

It was my last full day at school yesterday so I was a bit emotionally drained.  It’s tough to stay “up” for the kids when you know you’re going to miss them so much.  Needless to say, I had a spin class to teach last night and I knew I’d have an hour or so to kill beforehand.

I decided I’d run BEFORE spin class.  And I did.  It took me nearly 3.5 miles to find my stride but I did 5.5 easy (Sunday I did 6 at an 8 min pace – which is fast for me these days).  I then felt SO good that I cranked it up during Spin class and kicked my own butt.  It felt good to sweat as much as I did.

Say what you want about sweating (which I admit, I do quite a lot of….don’t judge)….but it’s good for you, it means you’re fit, it also means you’re healthy, and above all else – I know I’ve kicked ass when I sweat.

By the end of the night – I felt accomplished.  Tired, yes…..but a helluva lot better about myself and that I am going to definitely reach my goals sooner rather than later.

Questions for all of you:

Do you still workout when you are tired?

Do you sweat when you workout?  If now, how do you know you got a good workout?

What do you do if you don’t workout?

Comments
  1. Natasha says:

    Love the post! I always feel better after a workout even if I was tired beforehand.

  2. great post. very motivational. I agree 100%, I’m always feeling better after a workout

  3. sarahdudek80 says:

    I always feel best when I sweat. Great post!

  4. pallavisharma says:

    Reblogged this on Chronicles of A Fitness Freak and commented:
    Great tips on how to workout when you are tired!

  5. adambarr1106 says:

    When you’re tired or don’t want to — that’s when you most need to work out. Barring possible injury (which you should be on the lookout for), you’ll be better off. Sports is about pushing the failure line farther out. No better time to do that than when fatigued. Besides, “tired” is often a mental monster. You’ll be surprised how strong you really are, despite what you think.

    And the sleep after…whoa. Bliss.

    • k8efitz says:

      Right on, AB – it’s true and the sleep – you’re right! Usually I make myself workout, regardless of how I am feeling – lol. Obviously this gets me into a bit of trouble on occasion 🙂

Leave a Reply

