Endings…..

Posted: January 12, 2014 in Life, Music, Teaching
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Taking a detour from my typical workout post….just doing some reflection this Sunday…..

“I shall miss these things when it all rolls by…”~Dave Matthews Band

Quick question:  Who likes endings?

Here are my feelings about endings…..(in bullet point form…because it’s a bullet point kind of day)

Reasons Endings are Good:

  • They leave you feeling accomplished – like when you complete a project (ie, putting together that incredibly difficult piece of IKEA furniture with the single Allen Wrench they give you)
  • YUP

  • They create space for new beginnings – like when you finish training for a race and do that race, you are able to begin another training regimen OR just sit your but on the couch.  OR, give you opportunity to just relax.

  • How do I say this without seeming harsh….CLOSURE.

Things I dislike about Endings:

  • Sometimes, they come unexpectedly and you are not prepared for them….

  • Sometimes, we lose the things that are most dear to us….well, maybe not lose but they are no longer a daily occurance

So what am I getting at?

This week will be full of endings and beginnings.  This is my last week at the teaching job I’ve had since the beginning of the year.  I can not even begin to describe how bummed I am about it.  Don’t get me wrong – I am incredibly grateful and thankful for the experience and I have loved EVERY MOMENT of it – even the days that were trying (which there were really only about two of those).

In the last five months, my life has been incredibly hectic, insane, boring, trying, scary, happy, overwhelming, awesome, and (most of all) amazing.  While all of those were not emotions experienced at the same time – I can truly tell you I LOVE being a teacher.  I will miss my students.  I will miss the purpose that I had set forth every day.  Although it is an ending – I am hopeful for new beginnings and opportunities around the corner.

I am a firm believer in life figuring out a way to work itself out.  It always does.  One of my favorite axioms is:

My dad used to tell me that all the time when I was in high school and college.  He still, on occasion, reminds me of this.

Life is a constant series of endings and beginnings…..whether it’s with a job….relationships….friends….training regimen’s……etc.  We are all just trying our best…..

I am hopeful that my best puts me in a position where many beginnings arise from this ending.

 

Leave a Reply

