Organization, Hip Flexors, to Hell and Back

Posted: January 2, 2014 in Life, Music, Running, Spinning, Teaching
Tags: , , , , , ,

Since my weeks and days typically end up to be busier than I anticipate, I have taken to several new habits but in the old styles I’ve done them….

For example……I still make my lunch for school…but I do it the night before.  When school started, I used to make it in the morning.

While that’s a pretty mundane example, I still realize that I am moreso a creature of habit.  I prefer schedules.  I prefer organization.  I crave order.  Mostly.

Totes Magotes

Because of this, I’ve changed up my workout regimen as well as my sleeping patterns.

On a good day – I am usually asleep by 9pm.  On a great day – I am asleep by 8:30pm.  On an exceptional day – I am asleep by 8pm.  All of these times are arbitrary based on my level of organization from earlier in the day.  So basically if I am not finished all my “stuff” – I am not in bed until after it is completed.

I used to feel as though it was necessary to do EVERYTHING all at once.  I’ve gotten a lot better at squeezing things in a various times.  For example, I love to get to school INCREDIBLY early – like 6:15 early (and as I write this I do realize I am just like my mother, who gets to school around the same time I do….different schools).  During the hour before most of the kids arrive, I like to enjoy the quiet.  I catch on any copying or grading or prep that I need to do.  This is essentially ME time.  Weird?  Maybe.  But I love sitting with my coffee, in the quiet, and planning out  my day.

Because I now coach in the afternoons – my workouts have been pushed back to start around 5pm instead of the usual 3:30pm.  I’ll be updating you all on any new playlists and revelations I’ve had during crossfit.  The first revelation I’ve had in the last few weeks – I have NO core strength and my hip flexors are weak as $h%t.

I am still running – not nearly as much as I was for the marathon.  I am also teaching spinning – which I still LOVE.

This was my latest playlist for classes this week:

Screen shot 2014-01-01 at 7.49.32 PM

My new favorite song is #10 – Hell and Back by The Airborne Toxic Event.  It’s on the Dallas Buyer’s Club Soundtrack.  I leave it for you to enjoy on this second day of the new year.

Leave a Reply

