I totally lost touch with my blog….clearly.  Evidence being:  I haven’t written since the summer time!  Eek!

With that being said….rather than regale y’all with a recap of the last four or so months and the usual, “where I’ve been” post…..I’m just going to get right back into it.

For various reasons – my writing dropped off – life got busy – too many irons in the fire – you pick whichever idiom fits into that mold.  All of them are true but the truest is that I kind of lost my desire to write.

When is a better time to start back up then on the first day of the year?  Well, any day is really a great day to start…..”if not now, when?”…..right?

Like many people – I am resolving to make some changes this year.  I’ve decided that 2014 is going to be the year I am in the best shape of my life.  Details on how that’ll happen shortly….I’ve also decided to really connect  – with everything – this year.

Pretty Much….

In reality….I dug up last year’s resolutions….just to kind of gauge where my life has gone/changed/if at all…..  They looked like this:

2013 Resolutions:
1.  Practice Yoga 1-4 times a week.
2.  Continue to see my therapist.
3.  Join a Crossfit Gym.
4.  Get a Real Teaching Job at a local High School
5.  Learn to say ‘no’ and not feel bad about it.
6.  Volunteer.

Reflection: 

While I didn’t necessarily accomplish EACH of these…..I did manage to accomplish the important ones.  #2 and #4.  HUGE!  Just the fact that I got a teaching job – albeit a Long Term Sub position which ends soon (as far as I know) – I have had a purpose for the first half of the school year which is such an important part of my life.

I did #3 but it was in a roundabout way.  I am teaching spin at the location I do crossfit.  Did I mention one of my resolutions this year is to be in the best shape of my life.  I’d like to volunteer more and definitely do more yoga….my schedule is insane right now….so one of my resolutions will address this….

It’s always nice when you can look back at realistic goals and know that you weren’t too far off…..you know?

Greatest Moment of 2013 – Getting my teaching job at Ridley.  I literally was on the verge of a meltdown on my way home from a job interview that I thought I was going to have to take which would have changed my entire life…..when I got the phone call about Ridley.  It was a rollercoaster of emotion day.

Some of my students - with their thinking hats on :-)

Some of my students – with their thinking hats on 🙂

Worst Moment of 2013 – Steamtown Marathon.  If you’ll remember, I kind of started blogging again because I was training for this marathon.  Turns out – my heart was just not in it.  But THANKFULLY, I have two amazing friends – Jen and Heather – who came up to watch my struggle to the finish and kept me motivated to finish.  Thank god for my father – who I called at mile 14 and just kind of fell apart emotionally.  I have officially retired from marathons but other fitness goals are on their way 🙂

While I might look good - I feel awful - about 100 yards from the finish line.  Photo credit: Heather Van Horn xoxo

While I might look good – I feel awful – about 100 yards from the finish line. Photo credit: Heather Van Horn xoxo

SO……here we go…..

My 2014 Resolutions:
1.  Stop chasing after things or people who ignore me.

2.  Be a better friend – devote more time to them.

3.  Slow Down – allow myself to enjoy the moments.  2013 went SO fast.  I need to reflect more.

4.  Roll with the punches – I have gotten a lot better at this….but I still tend to get worked up in situations that are out of my control.  Who’re we kidding, we’re not really in control of anything…..

5.  Continue to search for and GET the elusive full time teaching position that gives me a real salary and benefits.

6.  Get into the best shape of my life:

-Crossfit 2 times a week

-Train for a Half Iron Man

-Run 20-30 miles a week

-Teach spin 2-3 times a week/Ride with a group on a regular basis

-Swim at least once a week

-Eat better and drink less alcohol (truthfully, I don’t really think I’ll miss alcohol that much – I just can’t handle the recovery time any more)

And that’s all I’m listing.  While I’ll have some other small goals – I feel that putting down TOO MANY goals can be overwhelming.  So there it is.

Oh!  Also – I plan on attempting to write EVERY DAY in 2014.  Whether that’s here or for my own self – who knows….but I just gotta do it….

Happy New Year!  What are your resolutions?

Comments
  1. T. D. Davis says:

    I really like numbers 1 and 4! Happy New Year and good luck with the resolutions.

  2. I did the same thing – completely neglected my blog since summer time…life totally got in the way. Glad we are both back 🙂

Leave a Reply

