Whatever tears at us
Whatever holds us down
And if nothing can be done
We’ll make the best of what’s around

Turns out not where but who you’re with
That really matters
And hurts not much when you’re around
And if you hold on tight
To what you think is your thing
You may find you’re missing all the rest

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The plan was to rest yesterday.

The plan was to run 20+ miles today.

The plan was to motivate myself to do it.

The plan was to be excited about the marathon by this point in training.

The plan was to get through it because the longer miles are necessary.

That was the plan…..

The truth is….I rested yesterday but I did some hiking – saw some amazing views at Hawk Mountain 

The truth is…..I went out on wave runners with my guy and had an amazing time meeting his family.  (that can make any girl nervous – even if you’ve known them your whole life!)

The truth is….I didn’t want to run today.

The truth is…I admitted this to my guy and explained how difficult it can be in the middle of marathon training.

The truth is…burnout during training DOES happen.  Please tell me I am not the ONLY person who experiences this?!

The truth is….I went to bed early-ish for a Saturday night and woke up early with the mental attitude that I was going to do this!

And that’s when the REAL TRUTH hit me…..when I went to put on my sneakers…after I was dressed….and mentally prepped….

I left my sneakers at the lake house.

Understand that old way I used to deal with this kind of stuff was a complete melt down.  And when I say melt down…I really do mean it…..there would be tears…anxiety…probably a panic attack….anger….and most likely a phone call to my dad.

Didn’t get a phone call this morning, did ya Dad? 😉

Truth is…..the universe listened to me.

Truth is….the universe is telling me it’s okay to not want to run some times.

Truth is….I had to make the best of what’s around….

Instead, I am going to go to a spin class (or two) this morning….and I will start over on my running plan this week.

Leave a Reply

