Seems like only yesterday I was so excited for Thursdays ….several reasons:

1.  Our Sports Show taped and aired on Thursday nights (in college)

2.  The next was and STILL IS – ALWAYS Friday – can’t go wrong with that?!

3.  Thursday night’s out!  College, grad school, working at TGC….always a fun time.

These days, my Thirsty Thursdays are more in the form of drinking lots of water.  Today will be no exception.

I’m off to run 7 miles this morning….possibly 8 – we’ll see how I’m feeling….

Would you like to know how yesterday’s Speedwork went?!  I thought so….;-)

Yesterday I found myself at the gym – on the treadmill – good times.

Started with .5 miles at 6.0 pace – warm up

1) .5 Miles @ 8.5 – 7:04/mile

.25 Mile @ 5.0

2) .5 Miles @ 8.5 – 7:04/mile

.25 Mile @ 5.0

3) .5 Miles @ 8.6 – 6:59/mile

.25 Mile @ 5.0

4) .5 Miles @ 8.6 – 6:59/mile

.25 Mile @ 5.0

5) .5 Miles @ 8.6 – 6:59/mile

.25 Mile @ 5.0

6) .5 Miles @ 8.8 – 6:49/mile

.25 Mile @ 5.0

7) .6 Miles @ 8.8 – 6:49/mile

.5 Mile @ 6.0 – cool down

Total was just about 6.6 miles – give or take a few….but I felt GREAT!  I probably should’ve pushed myself a bit harder toward the end and I should’ve really done 8 instead of 7 but I am okay with it.

I can feel myself getting stronger each time!

Later on in the afternoon I found myself at a local coffee shop and enjoyed a bit of Chai Tea and reading of Finding Ultra.  P.S.  I finished it already and it did not disappoint.

chai

My friend Paul met up with me there and then we headed to the Library for him to do some exploring and for me to do some tutoring 🙂 

In sticking with drinking…and/or drinks….

I also finished watching, Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead by Joe Cross.  Excellent documentary.  He’s an Aussie, which I love (accents rule!), who goes on a 60 day juice fast in order to turn his health around.

A little blip about it: 100 pounds overweight, loaded up on steroids and suffering from a debilitating autoimmune disease, Joe Cross is at the end of his rope and the end of his hope. In the mirror he saw a 310lb man whose gut was bigger than a beach ball and a path laid out before him that wouldn’t end well— with one foot already in the grave, the other wasn’t far behind. FAT, SICK & NEARLY DEAD is an inspiring film that chronicles Joe’s personal mission to regain his health.

I haven’t mentioned it on here, but I do juice.  This week is an off week but I typically make one juice a day when I am.  I have noticed a huge difference when I do versus when I don’t.  I don’t think I’d be able to do a full week of just juice considering how much I exercise but I’d be willing to give it a try AFTER the marathon training. 

Anyone else ever done it?

Anyway….today, as I mentioned, is a running day.  I am also meeting up with my friend Brian later – it has been nearly 7 months since I’ve last seen him – minus the brief hello on my birthday.  It’ll be good to hang out with him 🙂  Which will essentially turn into a Thirsty Thursday – adult style.

What’s that?  Basically it means being responsible – aka for every 1 beer, I have 1 tall glass of water (see, Dad I am responsible!)

So…my questions for the day….

What were YOUR Thirsty Thursdays made up of?

Do you still have them?

Would you ever do a juice fast/cleanse?  Have you?  What are your experiences with them?

Leave a Reply

