Strike that, reverse it….

Posted: August 7, 2013 in Life, Running
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Remember last week how I kept writing about how I couldn’t sleep and/or that I wasn’t getting enough sleep each night?

This week is like the total opposite.  Not only do I fall asleep within the first five minutes of closing my eyes, I am also falling asleep in the afternoon!  And I’m still struggling to wake up!

That being said – I think I may know the culprit – besides the obvious of not being able to stop thinking, which invariably results in me thinking about this one particular Simpsons episode:

No, I’m not afraid of clowns and no, I was not thinking about clowns….I just always think of that episode when I “can’t sleep”.  Get it?  Okay…..good.

ANYWAY – I’ve been feeling pretty good about my sleep and everything this week.  The only bad part is that I had every intention of doing a track workout this morning with my friend Mindy….I knew it wasn’t going to happen when I was still awake at 10PM.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I need at least 7 (preferably 8) hours of sleep each night.  The intention was to wake up at 4:30.  yeah. No dice.

I am still going to do my own speed workout – on the treadmill.

TRUTH:  I think this is going to be the better option for me.  Yeah, I know it’s kind of cheating that the machine is doing the work to get my speed up but it’ll get me to the speed I WANT to be at.

I’d like to do 8×800’s today.  Probably resulting in about 5 or 6 miles (depending on how much I warm up and cool down).

The rest of the day will be spent prepping for the rest of the week and weekend.  Creating playlists and organizing.

So tell me….how much sleep do YOU need in order to have a good workout?

Do you prefer the track or treadmill for speed work?

 

Comments
  1. RunKateRun says:

    I also need to make sure I get at least 8 hours a night when I’m training hard, otherwise I can kiss regular runs goodbye! I’ve found that when I’m battling to sleep, taking a hot, candlelit bath helps calm my mind and then I fall asleep a lot sooner. Otherwise I lie in bed for two hours!!

  2. Swags says:

    I’m a wreck if I don’t get at least 7 hours of sleep when I have to run the next morning.

Leave a Reply

