Reading, that is….

The other day, I wrote about how easy or difficult it might be for an athlete or a professional athlete to be a vegetarian/vegan. 

With the kindle I so awesomely received from my Stepmom and Dad on my birthday this year, I purchased my first book and started reading it last night….Finding Ultra: Rejecting Middle Age, Becoming one of The Worlds Fittest Men, and Discovering Myself.

Many people have told me they’ve read his book, Eat and Run.  While I intend to read that, this one was definitely first. 

As promised, I will have a review once I’m finished – it’s pretty easy to read and REALLY interesting so far.  I didn’t realize he was a swimmer (for Stanford) – so I am clearly extremely interested in that 🙂

Beyond that book, I also went the nerd route and bought….How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity, and the Hidden Power of Character

Can you tell I am a teacher and a coach???  I don’t think as many of you will be interested in what I find from that book but I’m looking forward to reading it. 

ANYWAY….

I’ve been having trouble sleeping lately.  I was definitely tired – my eye twitching came back (maybe one day I’ll draw my own cartoon with a day in the life of my eye twitch…) So last night, I thought – let’s do this right. 

I started reading (because reading is usually what I used to do to make my eyes tired at night) and took 2 Tylenol PM.  Yup – I cheated.  I really should be using Valerian Root or Chamomile tea to help me but all bets were off last night.  I had those ugly black rings under my eyes and I was like – it’s 8:30?  Time for bed!

Sure enough – it worked.  I slept from about 9:15 until 7:15 this morning and it was GLORIOUS!  It’s also raining so I lolled in bed til about 7:45.  I felt so much better and did my usual stretching:

It is raining in the Philly area this morning.  No outside run for me.  Instead, I am going to my favorite Yoga class with my friend Kristie.  I am looking forward to putting my energy into the class and devoting my mind to being CALM during Savasana…..

What’s everyone else doing on this lovely Thursday?

P.S.  I am so excited tomorrow is FRIDAY!!!!!  FOR SO MANY REASONS BUT MAINLY JUST ONE 🙂

 

Comments
  1. senelslant says:

    FYI, just bought “How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity, and the Hidden Power of Character” online…thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

