It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve posted on a Friday.  For whatever reason(s), I have been busy!  Who knew?!

A quick update on the running situation.  I ran outside yesterday in the VERY COOL temps (like cool enough that my hands were starting to feel really cold!) to a nice 8:30 pace.  6.5 Miles.  Total mileage for the week is at 31.5 (so far).  The plans are to run another 5 today AFTER I teach spin.  The temps will still be relatively low.  If that doesn’t happen though, I am not going to beat myself up over it.  I’ve decided I am TOO worried about time and how fast I’m going.  I need to relax.

Anyway!  This week’s Five Truth’s Friday deal with Swimming.  I rarely talk about swimming on here – unless it involves me coaching and/or the funny things that happen with my swimmers.  I suppose that means I am ready for the high school season to start! 🙂

1.  I was a distance swimmer.  I think this is one of the reasons it was SO easy for me to accept that I could run long distances.  Don’t get me wrong – I didn’t just run 7 miles the first day I went for a run but there are so many similarities.  One of the biggest ones is that you spend an awful lot of time alone.

When you swim more than 8 laps (a 200) you have all this time to think about your plan and how one flip turn can be the difference between a 100 that is 1:02 versus a 100 that is 1:03.  Don’t think 1 second is a lot of time?  In swimming – it’s an eternity.  For those of you that don’t believe me – Michael Phelps won his 100 Fly in Beijing by .01 of a second.  THAT is how big of a deal 1 second is….1 second is .99 longer than .01.  Get it?  Phelps is on the LEFT btw….

2.  When I am having a bad day and/or really angry – I will swim for about and hour – do about 4,000 yards straight.  It’s not often because I rarely get mad but it’s been known to happen.  Swimming, like nothing else gets out so much of my frustration and anger.  Unlike any other activity I’ve ever done.  Ha, maybe I just found my answer to getting rid of some of my anxiety.

3.  I rarely swim for exercise.  I know, I KNOW what I just said…but I also said I rarely get angry.  Truthfully, I get bored swimming alone.  I’d rather join a Masters Swim Team but most of the times they practice are not convenient for me so I end up doing my own workout.  So many people think that swimming is a solitary sport – and it CAN be – but if you’ve ever swam/practiced with a team, you know you are not alone in between sets when you make fun of the coach and/or talk about something else that was going on that day.  There’s an understanding amongst swimmers that “you’re all in this together” sort of thing.  You’re putting yourself through the pain of practice TOGETHER.  That’s nicer than swimming countless laps alone with no one to converse with…you know?

4.  Swimming is one of the hardest and best sports to do.  Yes, I am aware that there are A LOT of other sports one can make this argument with.  I get it.  Fine.  You can have it your way – but most likely if you’re arguing that the other sport is harder, you haven’t tried swimming (unless you’re a swimmer but in that case, you’ll agree with me on this).

One of the most famous AMERICAN Distance Swimmers (who held the World Record until this year), Janet Evans, wrote a book about her experiences in swimming.  Check out this Excerpt on Why You Should Choose Swimming

Incase you’re unfamiliar with Janet Evans (who was basically my hero growing up), she looks like this:

5.  My All Time Favorite Swimmers are:

Female – Dara Torres – Dara is the FIRST AND ONLY swimmer from the US to compete in 5 Olympics.  She’s won 12 Medals at the Olympics and in 2008 at the age of 41 she won 3 Silver Medals in Beijing.  HOW.  DO YOU LIKE.  THEM.  APPLES?! BOOM

Male – Jason Lezak – I’m not even going to explain why – just watch this:

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/7735706″>2008 Beijing Olympics Swimming Men’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay Final</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user2079915″>Meazza</a&gt; on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Leave a Reply

