Cri-Man Squa, F And C, Double Time

Posted: July 23, 2013 in Life, Yoga
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

First of all – the subject line comes from the episode, Product Recall, of The Office (US).  And it has one of THE BEST COLD OPENS EVER…..as seen here:

Secondly – The subject line involves a conversation that goes like this:

Michael Scott: Everybody in here stat. No time to lose. CRIMAN Squa F and C double time.
Dwight Schrute: CRIMAN Squa?
Michael Scott: Crisis management squad.
Ryan: F and C, double time?
Michael Scott: Front and center, twice as fast as you would normally go. Any other questions?
Jim Halpert: One more. Why are you talking like that?
Michael Scott: To save time, Jim.

Hilarity at it’s best – so what’s the point?  The point is – 1.  It’s HILARIOUS – if you don’t find it funny I can not help that you have no sense of humor.  2.  I’ve been doing a bit of my own Cri-man squa-ing lately.

I got my blood drawn this morning.  OH, so fun!

They took 10 vials.  10!  Yes, I know you’re jealous – it was inevitable.

Basically yesterday my doctor told me it was good I came for a visit – he recommended that I go see an endocrinologist and decided that I needed to get elevently billion blood tests (including my thyroid and cortisol).  He said I did a good thing to come to the doctor.  Crisis Management at its best!  Woot!

It brings me to my next thought….saving time.  Right now, I have all the time in the world.  I am not working (beauty of being a teacher) and I aside from my running and teaching swim lessons, my world is pretty open.

So why….why am I so incredibly stressed?  (FYI, when a doctor checks your cortisol levels it’s to see how much stress is affecting your health….)

Who has two thumbs and finds a way to be stressed even when she doesn’t have to be???  THIS GIRL!

Right here, baby

Truth is – there are a million reasons why I am/could be….and the truth is – I am not going to share that with you.

In an attempt to stave off SOME of the stress, I went to yoga yesterday.  I always hope that yoga will provide me with a source of comfort and release.  Usually, it does….yesterday – I could NOT stop thinking during Savasana

Yup – right on the money.  Savansana is probably the most difficult pose to master because you’re supposed to kind of just meditate..no thoughts…just be after all of the work you just put your body through.  I, on the other hand, am SO far from mastering this…it’s not even funny.  Yesterday was no exception.

So how can I relieve some of the stress?

-Exercise – ha, you’re joking? (as if I don’t do this enough already)

-Meditation – see previous statement dealing with exercise…

-Therapy – see number 1

Anyone have other suggestions?

It’s a habit.  A bad one at that.  I am a ball of anxiety on most occasions.  I am a worrier.  I always have been.  Why?  I don’t know.  But I’m finding that the more I worry the most impatient I get….which is terrible.

My dad will tell you it’s my worst attribute…..and so will my friends.  I know…I’m working on it.  Sometimes I just feel like Veruca Salt….

Which brings me back to my original statement – doing things quicker to save time.  In reality I am aware that doing it the right way (even if that takes longer than I want) the first time is the best way.  I am working on that.

In the mean time – does anyone have any suggestions about how I can relax/de-stress?

What do you do to relax?  How do you de-stress?

Comments
  1. ridentrunner says:

    Practicing yoga and or meditation more regularly. They are both practices. So in the beginning they may not feel like they are “working” but as u continue you go from being able to sit in stillness for 5 sec to 5min etc. (trust me…I’m still working on it but have seen the gradual progress). Also lavender essential oil-rub it onto the soles of your feet. Also maybe less strenuous exercising. While it can be a stress relief too much can be counter productive not allowing you the time to sit with whatever it is you need to sit with. ❤

Leave a Reply

