I’m still here!!!! (long post – read if you dare)

Posted: July 15, 2013 in Life, Music, Running, Spinning, Uncategorized, Yoga
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry about that….I went away for a few days….and I missed my usual Friday post! Ah well, can you forgive a girl? Celebrating a birthday and the wedding of one of my oldest friends was a bit more important.

Thanks for understanding 🙂

However I do come bearing gifts! Lots of pictures…and lots of wonderful stories!

Let’s get to the most important stuff first, fun is further down so if you’re uninterested in the workouts/running – scroll down! 🙂

Workouts and Running last week:

I had that whole plan of mileage and such – remember?? I knocked it out of the park!

Thursday I ran a chill 8 miles amidst all my phone calls/texts/facebook messages wishing me a Happy Birthday. Some of my favorite messages:

“Happy Birthday, Kate! We’re having a big party in your honor on Saturday” (from my friend Randy who you’ll see once you scroll down).

“Happy Birthday, summer buddy! I’ll always remember our birthday celebrations!” from my friend Megan whose birthday is the day after mine – she always had her birthday parties either on my birthday or around it and we celebrated together. It was always so special.

“It’s 7-11! In honor of your birthday I told 7-11 to give away free slurpees!” From my friend Tim. uhh, thanks bud….haha

“Happy Birthday, Kater Tater Tot!” from my friend Mike – it’s his original nickname for me….I don’t know.

Voicemail from my friend Greg in Florida – singing me happy birthday but also addressing me as “Katie No Middle Name Fitzgerald”…..I love that kid.

And of course, I can’t leave out the (most embarrassing) humbling reminder of how far I’ve come in this world…my friend Dan posted a video from about 10 years ago when I did sports stuff at CMU – I am not posting it up here because, let’s be honest, it’s not that spectacular. BUT, it was a nice trip down memory lane 🙂

But I digress…running (stay focused, Katie)!

Friday morning the temps were cool enough and the humidity was low enough that I was able to get outside to run (yes, sadly most of my longer runs have been on a treadmill)! I finished just over 5 miles before the torrential downpours started. It was a glorious run and I am so glad I forced myself to go outside. I promptly taught spin class after the run. Playlist is as follows:

  1. Baba O’Riley 5:10 The Who
  2. Gone, Gone, Gone 3:30 Phillip Phillips
  3. Radioactive – Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix (Imagine Dragons Cover).mp4 4:25
  4. My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up) – Pa….mp4 3:08
  5. The Other Side 3:47 Jason Derulo
  6. Marilyn Monroe 3:16 Nicki Minaj
  7. OK Go – This Too Shall Pass – Rube Goldberg Machine version – Official.mp4 3:53
  8. Beverly Hills 3:20 Weezer
  9. Wake Me Up 4:10 Avicii
  10. Foo Fighters – The Pretender.mp4 4:30
  11. 30 Seconds To Mars – Closer To The Edge.mp4 6:22

Needless to say, my body was exhausted much of the rest of Friday.

Weekly mileage was just over 36 miles. Woot! I am getting up to where I wanna be – right around 40-45 miles a week.

I also taught Saturday morning spin class – duh :-). Playlist (hill heavy class):

  1. Wake Me Up 4:10 Avicii
  2. Have a Nice Day 3:40 Bon Jovi
  3. I Hate Myself For Loving You 4:08 Joan Jett & The Blackhearts
  4. Can’t Hold Us Ft. Ray Dalton 4:18 Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  5. When You Were Young 3:43 The Killers
  6. Crystallize – Lindsey Stirling (Dubstep Violin Original Song).mp4 4:59
  7. OneRepublic – Good Life (1).mp4 4:08
  8. Billy Jean (Minilogue Remix) 6:44 Michael Jackson
  9. Wicked Garden 4:05 Stone Temple Pilots
  10. Move Along 4:00 The All-American Rejects
  11. OK Go – Here It Goes Again.mp4 3:05
  12. Lucky Strike 3:05 Maroon 5
  13. Don’t You Worry Child (Radio Edit) [feat. John Martin] 3:33 Swedish House Mafia
  14. Lonely Boy 3:13 The Black Keys
  15. Solsbury hill 4:24 Peter Gabriel
  16. Man In The Mirror 5:20 Michael Jackson

Biking Mileage Total: 58 miles

After spin yesterday I did about 60 minutes of HOT yoga – my legs were REALLY tight – felt good to stretch out. Some observations from Yoga (since I haven’t been on my mat in more than a week)

-My shoulders were about to give out when I got into my first Down Dog. The second, third and fourth were MUCH easier. Amazing how that happens.

-I am a LOT stronger now than I was 8 months ago. I can see the definition in my upper body (even if I don’t do yoga regularly).

-Yesterday, some how – despite all the ridiculousness that is going on in my world, I was incredibly focused. Maybe I was just really ready for something new and/or maybe it just meant I was finally learning to let go and let things happen how they are supposed to. I stopped thinking.

-Yoga is MUCH harder after an hour spin class. Just sayin’.

After class, I went home and took a three hour nap. Clearly my body and mind needed it. It was wonderful. Plus, it was helpful since I had some partying to do later!

Yesterday I was supposed to run 16 miles.  Turns out – 5 John Daly’s will not allow you to such a thing.  I had to settle for 8.5 miles.  I am justifying that because I flipped my long runs (last weekend I was supposed to run 8 miles and this week I was supposed to run 10) it’ll all work itself out.

3 MONTHS TIL STEAMTOWN!!! EEEEEK!

SOCIALLY:

This past week was incredible! I mentioned I was not exactly in the “birthday mood” when the week started. Isn’t it so great when things just completely change direction? I know. You agree. Good, I’m glad.

So on Thursday evening, I went to The Melting Pot with my Mom, Stepdad, Sister and Aunt. It’s basically a fondue place. I had never been before but had always heard great things about it.

HOLY MOLY was there a lot of food. Let’s just say, next time I go (if I do) I’ll probably only go for dessert – which is the bomb diggity btw…..Pictures!

meltingpot1

Cheese Course

meltingpot2

My Veggie Meal – Mushrooms/Artichokes/Tofu/Asparagus/Ravioli’s

meltingpot3

Veggie Broth on the Right/ Bouillon Broth on the left

meltingpot4

My dessert plate – YUM!

A few of my presents:

My Message from Mom

My Message from Mom

cryptogram

A book of cryptograms – because…well, I’m a nerd

chelsea

Chelsea! LOVE – my new Chelsea box

totesmagotes

My new Totes Ma Gotes Bag – Don’t act like you’re not jealous….

I also got (unpictured) a new Kindle Light, a kickass license plate frame (CHELSEA FC!), and the newest Shadowboxers LP.  I’ll post some of their music on here – they’re rockin’.

Friday, I had a busy morning and tried really hard to flush out all of the bad foods I was eating. How do I know? My face started breaking out from all of the sugar. See, I don’t usually eat added sugar – no desserts really (unless it’s a small piece of dark chocolate with hazelnuts in it)

THAT’S what I’m talkin’ about….

because a little usually goes a long way with me. I have a sweet tooth but it doesn’t take much to satisfy me. Needless to say, there was obviously dessert on Thursday (which you’ve seen) and the brownies from Tuesday (which were delicious!)….and I was anticipating more Friday night (duh) as well as at the wedding on Saturday. SO, I made a HUGE delicious veggie juice consisting of: 2 cucumbers, 1 large beet, 4 stalks of celery, 4 large carrots, two lemons, and a smidge of ginger. It was enough for a large pitcher of juice. It was FANTASTIC!

Friday evening I went with my Dad, Stepmom and Sister to Redstone. While I didn’t take any food pictures – I will tell you their cornbread, Margherita flatbread, and my Salmon Burger were OUTSTANDING! My dad loved the cornbread so much he took some home with him! That’s saying a LOT.

Just one pic – of my dad and me from the night 🙂

Dad and Me

Dad and Me

Oh, and dessert – Warm Apple Crisp!

MMMMMmmmm delicious

MMMMMmmmm delicious

Saturday was a day of excitement and anticipation. RANDY WAS GETTING MARRIED!!!!!!! – wait, what?!

Randy is one of my OLDEST friends. All of my childhood memories (that I recall) from the time he was born up til 12 or 13 (and we were one year apart in high school – although we had different groups of friends) include Randy in some way. I won’t bore you will all of the details of our friendship but understand – the kind of friendship that Randy and Fur (in the pictures below) and I have had our whole lives is one where despite the distance and/or lack of communication as adults – if any one of us needed something, we’d do whatever we could to help. That’s what family is…and that’s what we are.

Randy and Me as Kiddos:

Randy and Me (love my Hershey Kisses Shirt!)

Randy and Me (love my Hershey Kisses Shirt!)

Me and Randy - HUGS!

Me and Randy – HUGS!

Randy and Me as Adults:

Randy's Married!  Woo!

Randy’s Married! Woo!

More Wedding Pictures:

ASTER LANE! - Fur, Andrew, Randy, Me, Jason

ASTER LANE! – Fur, Andrew, Randy, Me, Jason

The Happy Couple - Randy and Meredith

The Happy Couple – Randy and Meredith

B.F.F.A.E.A.E. (Best Friends Forever And Ever And Ever)

B.F.F.A.E.A.E. (Best Friends Forever And Ever And Ever)

First Dance

First Dance

They Do!  Yay!

They Do! Yay!

Wedding Party

Wedding Party

Pics before the ceremony - Me and Fur (his name is Christopher...get it...Fur)

Pics before the ceremony – Me and Fur (his name is Christopher…get it…Fur)

Fur's RSVP - Let's just say Randy can be sure to await the proper retaliation when he least expects it....

Fur’s RSVP – Let’s just say Randy can be sure to await the proper retaliation when he least expects it….

Yesterday – as I mentioned, I didn’t get to do all of my 16 miles.  Just over half of it – I lazed about yesterday morning and eventually figured out that I should enter the realm of the real world.

I watched about 6 episodes of The West Wing (I’m on to Season 2!!)and then found my way over to my friend Jen’s to hang out with her and Hermes:

Just Chillin' on the Purple Couch

Just Chillin’ on the Purple Couch

Today – I teach spin class and then hope to take a killer yoga class right after.  I am having lunch with my Aunt Patti in the Warminster/Hatboro – we’re getting sushi!  YUM!

Comments
  1. adambarr1106 says:

    Goat tote…Ritter Sport Hazel…apple crisp…playlist….SENSORY BOMB DIGGITY MUNDO!

Leave a Reply

