For whatever reason, this song popped into my head as I woke up this morning:

Yep.  So there’s that.

Onward!

Yesterday I finally stuck to a killer speed workout.  On tap for running was the 3X 1 Mile @ 5K pace.  Here’s how it panned out:

Ran 1 mile @ 6.0 to warm up (amidst this run, my friend Mindy encouraged me to have a kickass run because at that point I was contemplating just running  6 miles instead – she looks killer and was telling me about her own running workouts.  Motivation at its best).

Ran 1 mile @ 7.6  on 1% incline (7:53/mile) – started to feel my legs beneath me.  It wasn’t as tough as I thought it would be.  I also knew, however, that that would be the slowest I’d run (with the exception of the warm up) for all three miles.  Listened to Barbara Streisand by Duck Sauce two times through – that definitely helped.

Walked @ 3.5 for .25 miles

Ran 1 Mile @ 8.2 on 1% incline (7:20/mile) – definitely getting harder but manageable.  I could still push it and didn’t feel unbearable.  Listened to Levels by Avicii two times through – again, music definitely helped.

Walked @ 3.5 for .3 miles

Ran 1 Mile @ 9.0 but eventually an 8.7 on 0% incline (6:54/mile) – As you can tell, the 9.0 was a little to fast for me yesterday.  I’ll get there –  I know I will.  This last mile was tough.  I kept telling myself (in my head) that I could do this.  I could do anything for one mile.  Just keep going.  Just keep going.  I knew I didn’t want to give up.  That time goal is definitely something I want to accomplish.  Listening to I Miss the Misery by Halestorm and Wake Me Up by Avicii definitely helped.

Jogged @ 6.5 to reach a total of 5.25 miles.  Total time – I forget but it was somewhere around 45 minutes.

Thoughts on my first real attempt at speed work:

-That ish is HARD!  I knew it would be tough and anything worth doing isn’t easy but for realsies, I was struggles magee over there.

-I can go faster.

-I want to be able to run 6 miles (comfortably) at an 8.5 pace.  That’s where I should be and need to be if I am going to qualify for Boston.

-I have to do speed work at least once (1 time) a week.  Here’s hoping I can keep it up.

-As hard as it is, this is forcing me out of my comfort zone.  That’s the only path to improvement.

Beyond yesterday’s workout – I taught my regular swim lessons – the kiddos were hilarious, as always.  I also caught up on some more of my marathon watching of The West Wing.

Have I told y’all that I’m re-watching The West Wing from the beginning, in it’s entirety?  For what seems like the billionth time?  No?  Well, I just did.  I’m still in Season 1 but I watched one of my favorite episodes from Season 1: Mr. Willis of Ohio

Also – I kind of love everything about this show.  Any other West Wingers out there?  As I re-watch it I can’t help but think how amazing the writing is and how the actors’ delivery of said writing is/was incredible.  Also – if you’re a visual person, the production/videography – bar none.

This excerpt is not from Season 1 but rather it’s from one of my FAVORITE episodes – Two Cathedrals – still gives me chills (there’s some Latin in there….just bear with it):

There’s definitely a bunch of other videos I could show but I highly recommend watching it on your own if you’ve never seen the show.  Funny, smart, dramatic…..Aaron Sorkin at his best. (yes, the same Aaron Sorkin that wrote The Facebook Movie)

AN – E – WAAAAY

Last night I had a fabulous get-to-gether with my friend Megan and her kiddos.  They made me a special birthday surprise – Chocolate Brownies with fudge, chocolate chips, and peanut – also with vanilla frosting and pink sprinkles/jimmies on top 🙂  They even put candles on the brownies.  At one point during our brownie enjoyment Avery (Megan’s oldest, and the one who I’ve had the pleasure to coach) turned to me and said, “I love you” – my heart just melted 🙂  Thanks Megan! For having me and putting me back into the birthday mood.  You’re awesome and so are your kids 🙂

Today, I am scheduled to do 7-8 Miles.  I also need to get my driver’s license picture re-done.  Nothing like waiting til the last minute (it expires Friday – the day after my birthday)!  Tonight will be some pre-birthday celebrating at my favorite place – like Cheers, only different. 🙂  The Henry’s Crew knows what I’m talking about….

Alrighty – off to start my day – everyone have a fantastic one!

Leave a Reply

