Well, if it’s what we do, if it’s what we’ve always done, don’t they know we’re going to do it?

Posted: July 9, 2013 in Life, Music, Running, Spinning
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Yesterday: Spin Class – Playlist:

  1. The Other Side        3:47    Jason Derulo   
  2. The Middle        2:49    Jimmy Eat World 
  3. Cruise (Remix) [feat. Nelly]        3:27    Florida Georgia Line 
  4. Emeli Sande – Next To Me [Music Video] 720p [Sbyky]        3:30     
  5. Wake Me Up        4:10    Avicii   
  6. The Script – Hall of Fame ft. will.i.am.mp4        3:53     
  7. Proud        4:29    Heather Small   
  8. Bad Romance        4:08    Halestorm 
  9. Shakira – Hips Don’t Lie ft. Wyclef Jean.mp4        3:39       
  10. Pitbull – Feel This Moment (Ft. Christina Aguilera) (1080p) x264 [VX]        3:56     
  11. Paint It Black        3:26    The Rolling Stones 
  12. I’ll Do Anything        3:12    Jason Mraz   
  13. The Remedy (acoustic)        3:56    Jason Mraz   

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Above quote was said by President Bartlet during the 1st Season of the 3rd Episode of TWW (The West Wing).  The name of that episode is called A Proportional Response.  I couldn’t help but think of how much this sentence rings true in so many other aspects of our lives.

The context of the conversation was over bombing a country but the idea behind it was basically, if someone does something to you and you’ve always reacted the same way – they’re expecting it.  Right?  Kind of goes along with one of my favorite quotes:

What I’m getting as is….it’s time to shake things up.  I tend to focus on the wrong things (some times) instead of the ones that are actually making me happy.  I tend to dwell on things I have no control over and/or things I want (read: I am impatient – like, woah).  Of course, I’m not like that with all things….for example – I don’t expect to be able to run at 3:25 marathon tomorrow – I am realistic in that I must train for that in order to get to it. 

So why…why when it comes to other things, do I have such a hard time just letting it progress???

If anyone can answer that for me – I’ll give you a million bucks (not that I have it – actually – I’ll probably make you my best friend/guru – so think wisely before you actually give me advice, your phone will be OFF THE HOOK with calls from me)…..

Basically – I need to refocus my energies……What makes me happy?  Who makes me happy?  How am I doing what’s best for me?

All selfish questions – right?  Not really.  Truth is, most people tend to forget about what it is that THEY need before others.  I am PLENTY guilty of this…..I am a giver.  I am a pleaser – that’s kind of the M.O. for many people who have an ED or recovered from an ED.  In reality, it’s only been in recent years that I have actually started to really think about what it is I want for my life.  Sometimes I still get swept up in what others think they hear me say….and what others tell me what they think I want.  So I figure it’s time for an evaluation…..

What makes me happy?

-My friends (duh) – I talk about them enough, don’t I?  My friends are pretty much the most fantastic people on the planet.  Proof?

My 30th Birthday - Phillies Tailgate

My 30th Birthday – Phillies Tailgate

Random Friday Night - Heather, Me, Dennis

Random Friday Night – Heather, Me, Dennis

These Shenanigans w/ Trish

These Shenanigans w/ Trish

Being a goofball with my best, Jacks

Being a goofball with my best, Jacks

Phillies NLCS 2009 - Jon, KC, Dad, Jo, Me, Brian

Phillies NLCS 2009 – Jon, KC, Dad, Jo, Me, Brian

Aster Lane Kids

Aster Lane Kids

Heather, Me, Jen

Heather, Me, Jen

Netty and Jacks

Netty and Jacks

 

-My Family

KC's Wedding in December 2012

KC’s Wedding in December 2012

Me and Mom

Me and Mom

Joanne, Me, Kelly

Joanne, Me, Kelly

Me and Dad

Me and Dad

-Running – Running undoubtedly makes me happy.  I enjoy it, even when it’s hard to get motivated to do it.  After every run, I feel better – my head is clearer – my mind is open – my thoughts are less emotional.  Running has a way of cleansing me more than any other form of exercise.  MORE than swimming ever did.

Although these are all simple things – I should focus on these simple things for now. 

Do what makes you happy, right???

 

SO….I ask all of you….what makes you happy???

 

Leave a Reply

