It always comes around
Back to you
I tried to forget you
I tried to stay away
But it’s too late~John Mayer

I’m back people!  I would always come back to you 🙂  My apologies for such a long lay off from blogging/writing.  Things were super duper fun and crazy at the same time.

The Dave Matthews Concert was a blast.  I got to see some great friends and hang out with some fun people at our tailgate before the concert.

Jen, Heather, Me

Jen, Heather, Me

Me and Jen in the Concert

Me and Jen in the Concert

Heather, Me, Jen

Heather, Me, Jen

Jen and Adam Levine (really my friend Andrew...but she thought he looked like him)

Jen and Adam Levine (really my friend Andrew…but she thought he looked like him)

The concert itself was NOT the best set list I’ve ever heard.  It felt a bit broken at times and not really fluid (is that redundant?)  I guess I was just spoiled from December – which was, by far (as many of my friends will agree) his best concert I’ve ever been to.  Friends of mine that went Saturday had a better set list but I was on to better and more fun things 🙂

I headed up to NYC last weekend to visit a friend.  Probably one of the best weekends I’ve had in a very long time and the company was definitely the highlight.  We did some exploring and walking…lots of walking….

Prior to heading up to NYC – I did get in a 6 mile run – a humid and sweaty 6 mile run but a good one.  It felt great to be outside and sweat.  I decided to take off on Sunday from any form of formal exercise – we walked instead.  It was a pretty good exchange since I hadn’t done that much walking in a while.  I could definitely get used to living in New York.

I am a suburban girl – I like the grass – I like the quiet – I like the calm and I really like where I live.  But in truth – I don’t have as much tying me to any one place any more.  I moved back to PA to get my teaching certification (check) and to be closer to my family (check) – but really – what’s keeping me in any one place?

One of the people I was chatting with this weekend had the same affinity for London as I did/do.

 

Smashing, Baby – YEAH

The reason I love Philadelphia so much is because it has a great balance and mixture of history and modern everything.  London, for me, is the same.

My friend Reagan is trying to convince me to move to New York – but he may have convinced me otherwise (am I making any sense?)  Regardless…..I definitely liked the convenience of traveling around the city – the walking – the subway (even if I sweat a LOT this weekend – thank goodness my friend didn’t seem to care).

Some of the amazing places we ate include:

Caravan of Dreams – OHHHHHHH my word.  This place was SO good.  A Vegan/Gluten Free restaurant with a LOT of RAW foods on the menu.  Many of my friends at home would absolutely LOVE this place.  I’m lookin’ at you Jacks and Kristie.

I had the Caravan Burrito -Seitan, black beans, Spanish rice, sautéed vegetables, guacamole, almond cream and salsa.

I’m not a food picture taker – but just know it was delicious.  My friend, Dave, got a this raw Coconut Curry Soup that was basically one of the best things he or I ever ate.  And his Rosemary Shiitake Mushroom Burger was out of this world.  I highly recommend this place!

We also ate at Bare Burger – which has all different kinds of burgers with different kinds of meats – of course there were veggie friendly foods too – Delicious!

Some fun places we went, include but were not limited to:

It was for a Live Karaoke Band – so you could sign up with a song and rock out on stage with the back up band.  Super fun.  I didn’t sing (I get nervous sometimes….it’s been known to happen) – but next time…watch out…

We also went to The Bitter End – which is a well known bar where LOTS of famous people have played (description from website:For over 50 years, our audiences have been blown away by legendary artists like Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan, Lady Gaga, Jackson Browne, Neil Diamond, Gavin DeGraw, Woody Allen, Jon Stewart, Randy Newman, Billy Crystal, Tommy James, Norah Jones, Donnie Hathaway, Curtis Mayfield, and thousands more.)

OH! and How could I forget?!?!!?!?

Being a bit of a healthy conscious person (who’re we kidding – I’m a health freak) – I don’t really eat doughnuts that often – in fact, I couldn’t tell you the last time I had a doughnut.  But I assure you – the ones we ate were WELL worth the wait and COMPLETELY ruined me for life – I will always have to get doughnuts from The Doughnut Plant from now on…..

We split two doughnuts – Tres Leches(cake) (trust me when I say this….life changing) and the Peanut Butter and Strawberry Filled(yeast).

Just To Give You An Idea As to What They Looked Like

OMG – SO GOOD.

So now you’re thinking (if you’re still reading this far) – did you do ANY exercise, Katie?!

Yes – I ran Monday morning – just a quick 6 miles on the Treadmill.  One of the adjustments I had to make was the different sleeping pattern.  I am more of a morning person and early to bed kind of girl – but when in Rome…..as they say 🙂

After all the walking and lack of sleep – I canned the Sunday run – but that is still there a glorious 7 miles planned including a trip over the Brooklyn Bridge – can’t wait to run it next time I go up!

Instead, I listened to my body – I was tired.  We walked, like I said, a LOT.  I did a quick 6 on Monday morning and walked more.

True Story

Once I got home, yesterday, I went to the gym and ran 7 miles – felt good – I felt ready to continue my Marathon training.

I had a fantastic weekend – fantastic company – smiles all around.

Today, I teach Spin and then some swim lessons (here’s hoping it doesn’t rain RIGHT in the middle of them) – then hopefully a quick 5 miles later.  I maxed at 36 miles (to this point in training) last week – I’d like to hold steady with that for a few weeks but I do have a 14 miler planned for Sunday so we’ll see….

TOMORROW IS JULY 4th – anyone have plans?!??!

 

Comments
  1. Great post; looks like you ate at some great places. Those might just be some of the most photogenic doughnuts I have ever seen!!

    I love that you are a music lover too. Now I’m going to be singing (the live version) of Back to You all day; LOL.

Leave a Reply

