Greetings all!  We made it over the hump!

In my world – and pretty much everyone by now – it’s Thursday – which means a few things:

1.  Tomorrow is Dave Matthews!

2.  Tomorrow is the start of my weekend!

3.  I am tired. Ha!

Just kidding – but no really, I have noticed more and more that with each morning I wake up, my body is sore/achy/tired.  I’m going to chalk that up to age???  Even though I am on the cusp of 32….two weeks from today, baby!  (yes, I’m excited about turning 32…deal)

I’d also like to chalk it up to the fact that I am active each day and my body is waking up from the rest I just gave it – at least 7-8 hours of rest I just gave it.  Yes, I am one of those people that needs at least 7 hours of sleep each night.

Truth is, there are a lot of reasons I could be sore/achy when I wake up – some of them being:

-Some nights I am a light sleeper, so I toss and turn – the fidgeting can make people tired the next day

-Some nights I am a heavy sleeper – if I am in a weird position that my body can’t handle, it is likely that my body is tired from that too

-I could probably use a humidifier – the moister in the air will probably keep my body relaxed.

-Stress (stupid stress)

and finally…dun dah dah DAH!

-THE BEGINNING STAGES OF ARTHRITIS

It’s no secret that arthritis runs in my family.  My Dad has one of the worst cases of rheumatoid arthritis – ever.  My mom, sister, mom’s mom, all of my dad’s family (pretty much) and many of my mom’s siblings have it.  That being said – it’s no wonder I feel this way.  My hands are typically swollen on the worst days – usually when it’s high humidity (like today) and you can feel the temperature of the air.

So, what helps?  Exercise!  And you wonder why I do so much of it 🙂

A few things to keep in mind:

1.  The achy-ness goes away after about 30 minutes.

2.  I have a high tolerance for pain and discomfort.

3.  Exercise really does make me feel better.

4.  I’m not complaining – just showing y’all the facts.

Truth is – I always knew I’d have to deal with this at some point.  I haven’t officially been diagnosed with it – but I know my body.  That’s one of those things you kind of become attune to if you exercise as much as I do.

What will help?

Stretching – DUH, yoga 🙂

Physical Activity – DUH, running and spinning

Drinking lots of water – DUH, I do this all the time

Small amounts of OTC pain meds – advil and/or ibuprofen (only when it’s really bad, though)

So today, I am hoping to get 7 or 8 miles in and then head to a yoga class this evening to stretch out a bit.

Yesterday I did a short 4 miles on the TM (again, this heat is killing me) and taught spin class.

Some running motivation today:

Comments
  1. arthritis is in my blood too… My parents complain about their joint pains almost every night… I dealt with it too 3 years ago. My uncle who was diagnosed with osteoarthritis had stem cell treatment and it was cured… I had the same treatment with Dr Purita and it went well.. I still don’t feel pain, I’m just a little worried about my health and weight since my OA was caused by overweight.

Leave a Reply

