Five Truth’s Friday: Current Favorite Workout Songs

Posted: June 14, 2013 in 5 Truth's Friday, Life, Music, Running, Spinning, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 

Good Friday Morning All!

Is anyone else as ready for this weekend as I am?  Although, I still have to get through tomorrow – another day of busy-ness.  Sunday should be a nice day to relax.

Workout updates before I get to my Friday Five.  Yesterday I ended up running a recovery run – 5 miles on the TM.  I’m glad I pushed through it.  Some people would call these junk miles…so, let’s call them that.  That brings my running totals for the week to just over 32 miles.  It’s a great number to be at.  My goal is to stay between 30 and 40 miles a week.  On tap this weekend is a 12 miler (Sunday).  I definitely plan on taking my time with this one.  Hoping to have my friend Mindy to run with but if it doesn’t workout – I’ll be ready to take it on myself.  I’ll be looking to do a new route or just add on to the one I’ve been taking – I kind of like it even if there are hills.

Anyway – today I’m teaching Spin as well as tomorrow morning.  I realized I didn’t put up my playlists from last weekend yet and I have to seriously update my playlist menu on the main page.  I’ll get to it….I promise. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My original thought for today’s Friday Five was to do my five favorite Dave Matthews Band songs – but I think I’ll save that for the day/weekend of the concert (JUNE 28th, BABY!)  Instead, I’m sharing my current favorite workout songs – songs that are regularly on my playlist and have been for awhile now.  Even after I take them off, they tend to creep back on there….

1.  Who Are You by The Who – This song is just…well…it’s a classic.  If you disagree, I.  WILL.  FIGHT YOU.  I always listen closely when it’s on the radio – sometimes they forget to edit it….if you listen closely you can hear what I am talking about 🙂  It’s a great song to run to and a great song to pick up your pace if it’s falling off – running or spinning or anything else.

2.  Survive by Rise Against – This song is great – I really love this band.  If you’re not familiar with Rise Against, I kind of liken them to a punk/rock/metal band.  Their lyrics are killer.  My favorite lyrics from this song, “Life for you has been less than kind, so take a number stand in line, we’ve all been sorry, we’ve all been hurt….but how we survive is what makes us who we are.”

3.  Levels by Avicii – I love this song.  The video below isn’t the original length of the song but as you can tell, it’s an upbeat song and gets you going!  I love to run to this.  I never thought I’d like a relatively “techno” genre of music but Avicii seems to get me every time.  I’ve downloaded all of his music.  It’s great stuff.

4.  My Songs Know What You Did in The Dark (Light ‘Em Up) by Fall Out Boy – For obvious reasons – I’ve also mentioned that I use this song to help me with Fartlek’s.  I love the clapping.  I love the heavy beat.  I love the fast pace.  Great song to run to.  Great song to sprint to.  Great song to use in a spin class.  Just kickass.

5.  Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Another, for obvious reasons.  This music video is longer than the song but it’s just as awesome.  I really love Macklemore and what he stands for.  He’s original and fresh and this song is upbeat and fun!  My favorite part/lyric of the song, “And I’m eating at the beat like you gave a little speed to a great white shark on shark week.”

 

What are your favorite workout songs???  I’m always interested in new music!

 

Leave a Reply

