Sweaty Shoes and Cracking Backs

Posted: June 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

Good Tuesday Morning Y’all!  (that’s the extent of my southern drawl…..and that I like grits (WITH CHEESE)…..you’re welcome)

So I was M-I-A yesterday.  Let’s just say I have my Sunday afternoon/evening/Monday morning as an excuse and one that’s left me smiley….moving on….

I left off with my Saturday workouts and the threat promise of a long run on Sunday.  Oh it happened.  In the 80 degree and humid weather…it happened.  The route was supposed to be 10 miles.  I only made it 9.25.  Why?  Well…when you have puddles of sweat in your shoes from the last hour and 10 minutes and all of your clothes are so drenched you can’t pull them off of your body to help cool you off – that, to me, is time to turn the corner and head back home.  Around mile 8.75 I felt the puddles.  Yuck.  I tried to remind myself of this:

But for some reason, the discomfort overtook my desire to burn off any more fat.  I probably burned 2K calories anyway – between the hills and the sweat and the running…..And no I am not being dramatic.

Really quick Q for everyone out there though – I feel like I am the ONLY person in the world that sweats as much as I do.  I know I’ve talked in previous posts about how good sweat is for the body and how it means you’re healthy but really, is this normal?  I feel like people say “I sweat so much, too” after I tell them I do but they really don’t sweat like me…do they?  That’s gross if they do….

You said it buddy….Source

Anyway…the rest of my Sunday was busy – until it wasn’t 🙂

I did get to see Star Trek: Into Darkness with the handsome Chris Fine Pine

It was pretty awesome – I was displeased with some of the fighting scenes but it is, after all, a movie. Moving on….

Yesterday was a rest day…I felt tired all day but am glad to have not had a workout to do.  I still subbed and coached and did some more math (LEARNING IS FUN).  The one interesting tidbit – which relates to Monday morning and the latter half of this blog subject..

When I wake up in the morning, I have a routine:

Crack all the fingers in my hands (..wait for it)

Crack my wrists….(…wait for it!)

Then sit up and crack my spine – both ways – all the way up….(CRINGING CAN COMMENCE)

There are lots of theories about cracking your bones and if it’s good for you – I say – why live with the pressure?  If it releases some of the pain, do it.  Honestly, I have never had any issues with my body or bones and the relief I get from cracking them is wonderful.  It’s actually not as bad for you as you think ——>Scientific American

All I know is – it feels great afterwards 🙂

My point is – I usually can do the whole spine crack after a day with a long run….I think it’s because my spine gets so compressed after all the pavement pounding – you know?  Anyone else ever have this issue???

Comments
  1. As far as the sweating issue goes I think we could have been separated at birth. I always attributed my sweating ti being a “big guy” but it’s ridiculous. So much so that I even have a special pillow that I use to absorb moisture. Whether I ride my bike to work or walk in, I have to change my shirt immediately.You don’t know how many times I’ve heard people say to me, “Is it raining?”
    But like you mentioned, it’s a sign of a healthy immune system so I’ve learned to accept it.

    • k8efitz says:

      I can assure you – size has nothing to do with it. I sweat all day. I don’t know how I’ve ever gotten a guy to date me! Haha. Just kidding. But really, I know it’s healthy it can just be annoying.

      I can’t even but the sneakers that are moisture wicking or “aerated” bc they don’t have enough support for my arches. I suppose, though, if this is my biggest problem…I’m not doin too bad. You know?

  2. Alexandra says:

    Have you ever used Certain Dri? I’m wondering if it would work on body parts other than armpits.

Leave a Reply

