Five Truth’s Friday: Spelling Bee Edition!

Posted: May 31, 2013 in 5 Truth's Friday, Life, Running, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

H-A-P-P-Y-F-R-I-D-A-Y!!!!!

Before I get to my Special Five Truth’s – just a workout update – because, why not?

Yesterday’s run was killer – solid 6.5 and I felt great running at an 8:00/mile pace.  I was really tired last night but I’m chalking that up to the fact that it’s been a long week.  Today I have a short run – just 4.5 – on schedule.  I’m hoping to make a fun spin class playlist – anyone have suggestions for songs/videos???

And now….

Did anyone catch the Scripps National Spelling Bee last night?!

Seriously – I love it.  I’ve watched it every year.  So incase anyone was wondering….it’s official – I’m a nerd 🙂  But I’m totally okay with it.  Nerds are cool now, don’t you know???

So in keeping with the theme – I decided today’s 5 truth’s will be 5 specific words that not only describe me but also contribute to the well-adjusted human being that I am (Okay friends, stop laughing……)

1.  A-L-A-C-R-I-T-Y – ALACRITY

Meaning brisk and cheerful readiness – eagerness.  That’s me!  I’ve always been one to be excited about doing new things and trying out new activities.  I rarely take on things in my life without some sort of cheer.  I mean, I was…after all…a cheerleader.  But you all knew that 🙂

2.  D-E-T-E-R-M-I-N-A-T-I-O-N – DETERMINATION

Most of you, by now, know that when I put my mind to something I will undoubtedly finish it.  The determination I have for things in my life comes from my parents and their work ethic.  I attribute much of my perseverance to that of my father since he has always worked extremely hard to enjoy the fruits of his labor.  I am hoping that all of my determination in the recent months will pay off….sooner rather than later.  Thankfully I have an amazing support system and a good attitude about life…

3.  I-M-P-E-R-F-E-C-T IMPERFECT

That which is not perfect.  Having gone through and recovered from an Eating Disorder – Perfection is a HUGE part of what the ED is based on.  I am now 100% contented with being imperfect.  Perfection is boring.  Imperfections are the things that make us special.  I was recently told my upper lip does a weird movement when I say certain words.  It wasn’t a negative comment – it was a comment on the smaller parts of my being and that those smaller parts make me special.  At least, I hope that’s why they told me that 🙂  Being imperfect means that all of the things I write about on this blog are not always going to go well.  I’ve written about terrible running experiences and terrible spinning experiences….etc.  I feel as though as humans we have to appreciate our imperfections to see how special we truly are.

4.  U-N-I-Q-U-E UNIQUE

I’m unique, just like everybody else 🙂  Ha!  But really.  Being unique is what  makes us all so special.  It kind of goes along with the whole imperfect thing.  But it’s realizing that being unique is a blessing.  So often, people are made fun of because they’re a little different or a little bit odd….who cares?  Why do you care so much if someone is different than you?  The same is boring.  Different is where it’s at.  I love that I have so many different and unique friends!  I love that I have some portion of their uniqueness in me too (otherwise, why would we be friends?).

5. K-N-A-I-D-E-L KNAIDEL

Yiddish for dumpling AND the WINNING WORD for last night’s Scripps National Spelling Bee!  The backstory to the kid who won – every year (this was his 4th year in it) he had gotten a word with Germanic origins that ultimately bumped him out of the competition.  Apparently he learned his lesson and kicked some  hintern! (which means butt in German)  Congrats to Arvind Mahankali, a 13-year-old boy from Bayside Hills, New York!  You won $30K, a trophy, and several savings bonds.  How’d you like to win 30K for spelling words?  Yeah, exactly.

From CNN

Leave a Reply

