Short Weeks and Short Runs

Posted: May 29, 2013 in Life, Running, Swimming
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Short weeks are great…unless they aren’t.  In which case, it’s usually because there are so many things jam packed into them because they should normally take place during a regular 5 day week.  Did anyone follow that logic?  Is it all in my head?  Maybe…..whatever 🙂

I mentioned yesterday that I was beginning my marathon training.  I.  Felt.  AMAZING during my run yesterday.  I was only supposed to do 6 miles – I added an extra half mile.  Can’t hurt, right?  I’ve also realized that this training plan might be the best thing ever for me….It’s structured (which, HELLO, is right up my alley), it doesn’t seem that tough to follow…and it’ll provide me with a method to the madness (which of course results in crushing my marathon in October!).

On track for today is an easy 4 miler.  I figure after my three crazy weeks, I’ll start to worry more about time…although it’s really about the mileage anyway.  The fartlek’s and hill work will help with the speed more than anything.

I’ve also decided I am going to run in the evenings.  The place we are practicing for our swim team (Cabrini College) has a fitness facility that is open til 9 and since our practices are over at 7 – plenty of time to kick it!  Basically, I am relieved.  I was really concerned about when I’d find time to workout – it’s a thing…plus there’s this:

YES

I am glad we’re already at Wednesday.  I don’t know if I could handle a full week of everything right away – we’ll save that for next week 🙂

So here’s my question for y’all – do you find that when you have a shorter week, you are busier than during a normal 5 day work week?

Leave a Reply

