Five Truth’s Friday: Memorial Day Weekend

Posted: May 24, 2013 in 5 Truth's Friday, Life, Running, Spinning, Yoga
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Hey Gang!  It’s FRIDAY!  AND, it’s a LONG WEEKEND…pretty much for everyone, yes?  Well – in the U.S., that is.

I thought I’d share with you some of the stuff I’ll be getting up to this weekend since Memorial Day Weekend is typically the kickoff to the Summer months for me and many in the U.S.

While several of my friends will find their way to the Shore (Jersey or otherwise – that’s BEACH for those of you that aren’t from around here)….I’ll be trying to figure out a way to keep my sanity! Ha.

1.  I’ll be teaching 2 Spinning Classes – Saturday and Monday.  Woot!

I love this…doesn’t totally relate to Spinning but I needed the laugh 🙂

2.  I’ll be MOVING tomorrow.  Yikes!  Tomorrow is the big day.  Sadly – I have been stressed out to the max with all of this….namely because it’s probably only going to be a few people (read: me, my mother and stepdad) who can help me….and my mom stresses me out hard core.  IDEK.  Today I am moving as much of the rest of my little things so Saturday will only be the big stuff (ie: couch, bed, tv).

Maybe I should just do this?

3.  We are celebrating my sister’s Birthday on Saturday evening (obviously this is part of what is making me anxious because what if everything doesn’t go smoothly?  How long will it all take?  Are you sensing I’m a bit of a worrier?????) at Coyote Crossing in Conshohocken (no…I didn’t mis-spell that).  CON-SHO-HOCK-EN.  It’s the town next to the one I grew up in.  It’s changed a lot since I was little.  Regardless – Coyote Crossing is AMAZING!  They have killer Margaritas (which you know I’ll totally be needing by that point on Saturday)!

4.  Yoga.  I think yoga will definitely be necessary come Sunday Morning.  That and a nice LONG RUN.  Technically I am supposed to start my Marathon training program next week.  We’ll see what happens.  Based on the fact that my schedule kind of makes a HUGE shift next Tuesday and I am not totally sure where I’ll be or how much time I’ll have to do everything…I’m going to play it by ear.  You can bet that I am going to still run…but it’ll either be in the early morning (ugh, shoot me) or in the late evening (ugh, again…see previous comment in parentheses).  Or maybe I’ll just do this:

5.  Neighborhood BBQ!  This is a tradition like any other.  I grew up in a cul-de-sac (you know, a circle….but saying the French version gives you the impression I’m smart and that I am snotty…so..there you go).  At some point I will write about my childhood experience and why it is incredibly different than any one else.  Regardless, every Summer holiday, we’d have a neighborhood BBQ where everyone would make something and we’d all sit out and eat together.  But understand that our BBQ’s were and at times, still are, LEGEN……..wait for it…

We would close off the top of the circle and put our benches/tables out into the middle of the street.  When I was really little, the dad’s would get a keg or two and just play poker all night.  For three nights in a row.  All the kids would play together…and if it rained…we used my parents garage and a tarp to allow us to still eat together and enjoy one another while the Top 500 (of whatever weekend it was) from the Classic Rock station played.

The BBQ’s now are a bit different in that all of the kids are grown up – but our parents still get together and most of us go home for one of the days to hang out.  I remember the first time I missed one.  I was so sad.  Seriously.  I cried.  I had/have the best set of neighbors and also basically 5 extra sets of parents a kid could ask for.  But more on that later.

What’s everyone else getting up to this weekend??

Leave a Reply

