The Worst Run EVER

Posted: May 22, 2013 in Life, Running
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Let me clarify – yesterday, in the Philadelphia and surround areas – it was hot and humid.  Actually, more humid than hot.  It was only about 70 degrees when my friend Mindy and I set out on our run yesterday morning.  But the humidity.  UGH.

See that sweat? Think like 10 times worse on me

I am a sweater….no ifs ands or buts about it….I am a hard core sweater (and no, not like the thing you put on in the winter).  SWEAT – ER: ie. sweaty person who doesn’t seem to have control over her perspiration!

Interesting facts about people who sweat a lot – you tend to be healthier and it’s usually because you drink a lot of water…among other things..true fax…..don’t believe me?  Check it out.

BUT, I digress…we started out on the same path as the week before.  No biggie.  I was the one pressed for time this week.  Unfortunately, within the first .6 of a mile, I realized I had TOO many clothes on.  And by that I mean I was wearing capri pants.  Totally thought I’d be fine.  In fact, I was cold in my apartment (of which I do not have AC) prior to our run.

My legs and pretty much all my muscles in my lower extremities were still sore from Sunday so I knew this run would either be awesome in the way that once your muscles get warmed up they feel great and you can run for hours OR I would feel like I was carrying dead weight/bricks/cinder blocks on my body.  Guess which one it was?!  I bet you know!!!!

It was a struggle to say the least.  I was still able to talk to Mindy during the run – which either tells you that I probably could’ve gone faster OR that I am fit enough to talk and run now (I’ll take the latter).  When we got to the last .5 miles (which is basically all up hill) I was just like – go…leave me….don’t even think of me….I am useless….

Minus all the hair….It’s a pretty good resemblance…

We did finish – averaging 8:59/mile – I DON’T KNOW HOW – and parted ways.  We only went 6.6 yesterday but I will chalk that up to the heat and exhaustion on both our parts.  Mindy just started Insanity (you know, that killer cardio workout from the guys who do P90X) so she was sore too.  We have plans to run again next week.  Here’s hoping it’ll be better this time.

Basically what it boils down to is I have to get used to running the hot weather again.  It’s going to be toasty this afternoon in these parts….nearly 88!…so I haven’t decided if it’s a treadmill run or if I’m going to brave the elements again.  We shall see…

So now I want to hear from you!  What is the worst run experience you’ve had?  Too hot?  Too cold?  Feeling like you’re going to die?  TELL ME 😀

Comments
  1. I feel better about my running struggles after reading this post. My first run Post-Broad Street was murder. It was like I never ran before. I chalked it up to the thick humidity. In the winter, my pace struggled due to the freezing cold and having winter layers on. I might say I prefer cold running because you warm up. I’m determined to keep my running schedule up during the summer months so it might mean I have to get up earlier to do so.
    At least you ran! And that’s why it’s called training. That’s a great pace for that distance,too!

    • k8efitz says:

      Totally! I didn’t mean to make it sound like I am complaining about being slow…just that it was so difficult. And you are definitely not alone in enjoying the winter weather to run in more. I like running in the cooler weather (so long as it’s not raining).

  2. bridgetmcgahen says:

    My old running buddy and I joke around about one run in particular. She and I trained for the Houston marathon together. Keep in mind, Houston summers (May-Oct) are hot, but we ran a lot off different runs together:

    we ran in 100 degree weather
    we ran in 35 degree weather
    we ran in pouring rain
    we ran in sleet
    we ran after tough weight-lifting workouts
    we ran sprints
    we ran 20 miles at a time sometimes
    we ran with injuries
    we ran on hills
    we ran on tracks
    we ran on sidewalks

    But the joke is that none of the above circumstances were the “worst.” The worst we ever had was a little August 5-miler. It was an average Houston summer day. Temperatures in the 90s by mid morning, humidity at what felt like 100%. It wasn’t anything special, but for whatever reason, we both felt like we were going to die the entire time. We almost didn’t make it back to her house. I don’t know why, but it was the worst and I’ve never had a run like it since.

    • k8efitz says:

      Yes! Exactly! I’ve definitely had “harder” runs before but it was the heat/humidity that got us. Worst. Glad I am not alone in this 🙂

  3. Hi, new reader here! I agree, running in humidity is awful! It’s why I’ve taken my running indoors (which is so not as fun as running outside), Texas heat and humidity is miserable. Way to go on finishing and keeping up such a great pace!

    • k8efitz says:

      Hi hi! Thanks for reading 🙂 And I can totally understand (not just from my last post) about the southern heat and humidity – I used to live in Florida – it’s AWFUL in the Summer.

Leave a Reply

