Unexpected Events

Posted: May 20, 2013 in Life, Music, Running, Spinning
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So….my weekend was filled with a lot of unexpected events….that turned out to be entirely awesome!

It’s funny how you can start a day thinking one thing and those thoughts completely get flipped around.  Life is an enigma in that way….

This weekend, I did, however, get all my workouts in.  Friday, I was feeling lethargic and just all around gross because Thursday was my rest day.  (side question – does anyone ever feel uncomfortable or awkward the day after a rest day?  I suppose if I had exercised in the morning on Friday I wouldn’t have but I had to wait all day before I could go for a run)

My run Friday afternoon was wonderful!  The weather was amazing (unlike this weekend, yuck) and I did a nice easy 6 miles just under 50 minutes.  Not super fast but I was trying to enjoy the afternoon and the fact that not that long ago a mile, let alone 6, would’ve been out of the question.  Sometimes you have to stop and enjoy the fact that your body can do the amazing things it can do.

Thoughts on my Friday Run:

  • Where do I want to go next?
  • Should I be trying to get a teaching job or should I just get a regular job
  • Why is EVERYONE cutting their lawns today….
  • Oooh, cute guys….look like a serious runner…pick up your pace…don’t let them see you out of breath
  • My Achilles isn’t bothering me today – yay!
  • I have a  meeting tonight….oooh, pizza

This too (Source)

Saturday, I taught my usual spin class – it was really killer (at least, I think so).  Here’s my playlist:

  1. Thunderstruck        4:52    AC/DC
  2. Van Halen – Right Now.mp4        4:20
  3. The All-American Rejects – Dirty Little Secret.mp4        3:15
  4. Beat It (Featuring John Mayer)        3:49    Fall Out Boy
  5. Sympathy For The Devil        6:28    The Rolling Stones
  6. The Script – Hall of Fame ft. will.i.am.mp4        3:53
  7. Lighters (featuring Bruno Mars)        5:04
  8. Hey Mama        3:35    The Black Eyed Peas
  9. My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up) – Pa….mp4        3:08
  10. Britney Spears & Maddona –  Me Against The Music        3:44
  11. Dirrty        4:46    Christina Aguilera
  12. Crawling        3:29    Linkin Park
  13. Supermassive Black Hole        3:29    Muse
  14. Satellite        3:59    Rise Against
  15. Dave Matthews Band – Mercy.mp4
  16. Bruno Mars – When I Was Your Man [Official Video].mp4        3:57

So I used a few videos (the mp4’s)  I got some good feedback.  Pretty happy about that.  Two of my favorite videos – Right Now and Dirty Little Secret – you should check them out if you’ve never seen them.  Everything I got is from YouTube.  Amazing how wonderful the internets can be…..

Saturday I ended up going to a BBQ that I was going to nix.  The original thought process was that it would be me with a bunch of couples…and that’s not exactly fun for me since I figured it’d be like everyone having a party on the inside while I’m on the outside…standing in the rain…

Basically (Source)

 

..(anyone get that reference???…no…okay, I’ll be in the rain…haha).  So I’m being a bit dramatic….but I went anyway (out of being guilted by my friend Reagan)….I’m glad I did.

I met some pretty fun people…and did I mention it was like a “sports” tournament (beer pong/washers/basketball/golf/etc).  I lost or came in last in most events.  I’m okay with that.  I’m good at the real sports 🙂

So like I was saying…turned out to be a good day.  I had planned to stay a few hours…that ended up being until about 8:45 that evening.  Went home because I had every intention of running 12 miles yesterday……..

YEAH….I didn’t.  It was rainy and gross.  My friend Mindy and I decided to nix the idea because neither of us enjoy running in the rain….so instead I rain at the gym on the treadmill….and this happened….

Totally (Source)

I did my usual Sunday routine – went to Mom’s…went to Dad’s….then met up with a friend I met from the BBQ….and enjoyed his company 😉

This week I have plans to teach spin and run…I might even throw in a swim….who knows?!

Anyway..hope everyone had a nice weekend!  Holla!

Leave a Reply

