Running is…..

Posted: May 14, 2013 in Life, Running
Tags: , , , ,

Running is not, as it so often seems, only about what you did in your last race or about how many miles you ran last week. It is, in a much more important way, about community, about appreciating all the miles run by other runners, too.~Richard O’Brien

So I get these RW Quote of the Day Emails – in which I get a new quote (inspirational or otherwise) from Runner’s World Online.  The above quote came to me this morning.  I didn’t realize how much of a community running was until I actually decided to really partake in it.  So this morning…my post is devoted to what running “is” or means to me….

Running is….

A physical outlet.  When I first decided to include running in my workout routine – it was not easy.  I got blisters.  I chafed in so many places.  I felt uncomfortable – mainly because I knew I had this extra weight on me that was making me uncomfortable.  But something happened when I decided to ignore all of that….I actually started to enjoy myself.  I realized I was doing something that many other people wouldn’t even attempt to do or could do.  I was running.  I was making changed.

An emotional outlet.  Last summer, when a bunch of poop hit the fan in my life – running was what I did.  I was probably averaging about 40-50 miles a week and I WAS NOT TRAINING FOR ANYTHING.  When I ran, nothing was wrong.  I could take out my emotional sadness on my legs and my breadth.  I was able to release the pent up sadness each and every day that I ran (which I did).  Even now that I am 100% over it….running, for many people I know, serves as a way to release anger or rage. 

A great endorphin kick.  Part of the reason I ran so much in the previous reason is because of those endorphins.  If you’ve never been on a runner’s high, it’s addictive.  There is a certain point after a certain amount of mileage (different for everyone – for me it usually kicks in around mile 3) where your body just goes.  You are in sync with your breathing.  You don’t feel your legs – in a good way.  You know that you could probably keep running for a lot longer than you are used to.  That happened to me on Sunday.  It happened to me yesterday but I still stayed with my 4 miles.

A community.  When and if you have ever run a race – runner’s are awesome company to keep.  They help complete strangers because at some point they’ve been there.  They will offer a sense of comfort before the start of your first race, especially when they see how nervous you are.  Runners just get it.  They get the concept of caring for one another and supporting one another.  Case in point:  the overwhelming support for the Boston Marathon runner’s this year and how SO many races since then have shown their support.

 

There are a lot of other ways running is important to me…..but those are probably the most important.  I do it because I can and I like it…..

What does running mean to you?

Richard O’Brien

Leave a Reply

