Aches and Pains of Running

Posted: May 13, 2013 in Life, Running, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Good Monday Morning All!

Did everyone have a nice weekend?!  It was GORGEOUS up here in Philly and most of the Northeast.

In addition to my lovely weekend, I did manage to get some workouts in…and intend to do a quick 4 miler this morning because I am teaching Spinning tonight so I don’t need to get all mileage heavy just yet.  Plus I am running with a friend tomorrow morning so I need some fresh legs.

Friday I went for a glorious 6.5 mile run.  The weather was beautiful that morning and it was perfect for a nice peaceful run.  My speed is coming back too – noticing I’m holding 8:30/mile as a leisurely pace instead of the 9:00/mile I was during rehab.

Since Broad Street, I’ve had a bit of a pain in my left ankle area – I checked out possible problems – looks like it’s the swelling of my Achilles.

SO…I am putting a pressure wrap on it and icing it.  The pain actually goes away after about a mile into my run but I know I don’t want to make it worse.  I checked out the possible home remedies for this kind of issue from Runner’s World and the Mayo Clinic to figure out what to do.  In the past, if I’ve had any pain from running it was typically muscle soreness – with the exception of the tendon tear I had last Fall – which, btw, NO PAIN! 🙂

I find that moving around helps it – keeps the blood flowing so I was proactive this weekend – moving a lot of boxes and things from my apartment to help ease the move in a few weeks.

Saturday I taught my typical spin class with a twist – I used the projector screen showing 4 videos!

1.  Weapon of Choice by Fatboy Slim – Yes, that is Christopher Walken

2.  This Too Shall Pass by OK Go – Because this is amazing

3.  The Fighter by Gym Class Heroes ft. Ryan Tedder – Inspirational

4.  Levels by Avicii – Because it won a “flash mob” contest.

Check them out!

Sunday, I ran 7 wonderful miles – no Garmin – just me – my music – beautiful weather – and I went.  It took me less than an hour – I guess it helps to not worry so much about how fast I am going.  I don’t know – I go back and forth with it.  As I mentioned – the pain was only at the beginning of the run and then disappeared.  I am hoping that by being proactive after each run – I can help reduce any issues that could result from it.

Let’s be real here though – runner’s out there – who HASN’T experienced some sort of running pain?  It’s tough on our body’s (specifically knees and feet) so there is obviously some risk involved with injury.  I am, however, finding joy in running the way I used to.

I’m not gonna lie – it was difficult to motivate myself to run again after the 4 month layoff.  I didn’t even think I could do it but some how those 4-5 months went by like they never even happened (albeit it didn’t feel like it at the time).

It’s true – we often need a break from pushing ourselves too far and clearly I needed one – at least, that’s what my body told me.  NOW…however…now is the time to take it to the next level.

I am ready to endure and to take care of myself properly.

Boston – in the words of George Harrison – I’ve got my mind set on you!

And this time I know it’s for real
The feelings that I feel
I know if I put my mind to it
I know that I really can do it

Leave a Reply

