Five Truth’s Friday: The Athlete Before The Athlete

Posted: May 10, 2013 in 5 Truth's Friday, Life, Running
Tags: , , , ,

For some people, running and working out isn’t necessarily a lifestyle until they’re an adult or at the very earliest, college.  For many like me, however, exercise and sport were kind of instilled in me since I was a child.

I can not remember if I ever mentioned the fact that I was a Cheerleader on here….I must have.  I had to have…..I am giving you proof of that today 🙂

When I tell many of my friends as adults that I was a cheerleader for 8 years  (yes, 8) and that for most of that time it was the competitive kind (like you see on ESPN)…they don’t believe me.  Why?  The first reason is usually because I am kind of a guys girl so they just assume I was a soccer player and/or baseball/softball player (oh, I did those too).

The truth is….everyone in my neighborhood was involved in a local football/cheer organization (think Pop Warner) so it was only natural that I cheered on the boys playing football.  At first, I was one of the youngest cheerleaders because my sister (4 years older than me) also partook and since my Mom didn’t want to go to two different football games, I was on the older girl’s team (the 105’s then the 125’s – they divided the groups by age/weight for the boys football teams – by age for the girls).  I was a PW Spartan (be advised, if you go to the link, Gerard Butler will yell at you) for 8 years – Age 6 to 14.

Now, for those of you who are all “cheerleading is not a sport” or “they just stand there and shout” blah blah blah….That’s fine…you’re entitled to your opinion but until you’ve done it, please don’t pass judgement.  It is not an easy sport and you definitely can get hurt badly.  Personally, I learned so much being on a team of young women – mostly about teamwork and camaraderie but also about the pursuit of a similar single goal – to win competitions.  And we were good, too.

Today’s Five Truth’s are pictures (okay, there are seven of them) of me and my friends cheering.  Enjoy!

1.

Our 4 Year Jackets

Our 4 Year Jackets

2.

Left Side (strong side), being held up by my sister and Lisa

Left Side (strong side), being held up by my sister and Lisa

3.

All the way on the right - I look so happy - waiting to practice for competition

All the way on the right – I look so happy – waiting to practice for competition

4.

Second Row, Left Side - My "V" is off

Second Row, Left Side – My “V” is off

5.

I'm in the Second Row from the Top - #1!

I’m in the Second Row from the Top – #1!

6.

Finally on a team with people my own age - Circa 1990ish - When we were in the Gulf War - notice the yellow ribbons on our shirts I'm in the front row three from the left.

Finally on a team with people my own age – Circa 1990ish – When we were in the Gulf War – notice the yellow ribbons on our shirts
I’m in the front row three from the left.

7.

image_2

8 Year Jackets

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

