Book Club and The Art of Recovery

Posted: May 7, 2013 in Book Club, Life, Running
Tags: , , , , ,

So, our first Book Club Meeting was a success!  Understand that when I say ‘Book Club’ I really mean – meet with my best friend Jackie to drink wine, eat sushi and frozen yogurt.  It was wonderful.  The book we discussed was from Australia – Pinot Noir.  Anyone else ever read it?  I think it goes without saying that it’s a delicious read. 🙂

Yesterday I did a quick (32 min) recovery run of 4 miles.  I kind of wanted to go farther but I was limited on my time so 4 miles it was.  My legs didn’t feel that bad yesterday.  They were sore but not heavy the way they usually feel after a hard run.  My calves were bothering me a bit throughout the day but I was stretching them a lot and doing lots of toe points.  I found that the more I points and flexed my feet the better they felt.  I also did a lot of calf stretches.  It’s weird, after runs my quads always used to be sore – now it’s my calves.  I’m not quite sure what I’m doing differently with my running but I am determined to find out.  Regardless, the run was fine and I felt good afterwards.  I feel really good today.

Today, I teach spinning but I am probably going to do my own workout beforehand – last week when I taught, there was no microphone and very few people heard me over the music and fans.  I guess this week I’ll have to walk around instead.  :-/  Not really feelin’ that but sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do.

Anywho….that’s all I have this morning.  Race recap coming!  Have a great Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

