I lean against the wind, pretend that I am weightless and in this moment I am happy

Posted: April 24, 2013 in Healthy Eating, Life, Running, Spinning
Tags: , , , , , ,

Brandon Boyd (lead singer for Incubus) is a genius.  And he’s hot too..so…BONUS!  (who isn’t a sucker for a hot smart guy?  exactly)

I kind of have a thing for guys with a bit of shaggy hair….wonder where that came from…..

Some random thoughts this Wednesday morning:

1.  I wish I had someone to prepare my meals for me so I could just eat clean all the time.  In truth, I am usually pretty lazy about making food.  I will prepare my lunch each evening for the next day but it’s usually the same thing.

2.  Why are all my friends getting engaged or having babies?  Ok…ALL is a bit of an exaggeration but still…I’m going to three weddings this year already…three of my friends just got engaged…some of them are expecting or just had babies…some of them have full fledged families!  Don’t get me wrong..I am happy for them.  Incredibly Happy for them!  And I’ve spoken with a lot of them and they tell me “the grass is always greener”….no…the grass is greener where you water it.  I just am so curious…how do the know?  How do they know who they are let alone that they are ready to spend the rest of their lives with someone else who ALSO knows who they are?!  How?!  What’s their secret?  And how can I get there?

I realize the value of life is not the destination but the journey but seriously….why do I always feel like I am the one getting left behind?

3.  I am having a difficult time finding red running socks.  I want to wear them the day of Broad Street to show my support for Boston but I can’t seem to find red toe running socks.  Help?  Anyone?  Beuller?

4.  Oh yeah..I didn’t have any issues with my 10 miles or my 5 miles the other day because I’ve started to wear toe socks:

They’ve been great!  No rubbing!  Nothing!  I don’t know why I didn’t try them earlier.  Only thing is their kind of pricey – about $12 per pair…but you know…I’ll pay that if it means I can get through more than 4 miles without another blister popping up.

5.  I watched the newest 30 for 30 on ESPN last night: Elway to Marino.  SO interesting!  It was about the 1983 NFL draft (which seemed to be the first year the draft was of importance or at least made some sort of stink in the media).  John Elway was picked first and made a big stink about going to the Baltimore Colts (he even said he’d play baseball for the Yankees instead).  And nearly picked last was Dan Marino.  Crazy!  Amazing how of the unprecedented 6 QB’s to go in the first round – the first and the 25th picks were the ones with the most sustaining careers (both about 17 years).  Phenomenal!  Of course, I think Elway comes off as kind of a jerk in it…but maybe that’s just me….

Elway on the left. Marino on the right. (JIC you didn’t know)

6.  I rode 40 mile yesterday on the bike.  I felt really good the whole time.  Took me about 80 minutes (I didn’t do many hills).  It was the last two miles that were killer….I could start to feel my left calf muscle tense up…I feel pretty good about the fact that I can withstand 40 miles on a bike inside.  I think my first ride outside will be about the same.  Hoping to do it a week after Broad Street.

7.  Today I’ll be running and then heading to Sub for the latter half of the day.  Lots of stuff to accomplish this afternoon!  So glad it’s Wednesday already.

Leave a Reply

