How we survive, is what makes us who we are…

Posted: April 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

I mentioned recently that listening to Rise Against when I run is a MAJOR help.  I forgot how good their lyrics are.  This is just one example:

Life for you, has been less than kind
So take a number, stand in line
We’ve all been sorry, we’ve all been hurt
But how we survive, is what makes us who we are.

Just kind of gets ya goin’!

And it’s entirely true.  It’s what you do with the obstacles OR opportunities in front of you that gives you character.

That being said, this week and the rest of the time I am living at my apartment I am trying to take full advantage of that.  I have decided I am determined to only buy necessary food (like fresh fruits and veggies) until I leave here at the end of May.  I don’t want to throw any food out and I don’t want to waste it.  Time to be creative!

Yesterday I stepped up my workout a bit.  Decided for a Brick workout. What is a brick workout you say?  Click here to find out

So now your next question is…..does this mean you’re going to do a tri soon?  Well, I’m thinking about it.  In truth, I’d really love to.  I could probably kick butt.  It’s just the amount of money it costs to do it and the amount of time you have to devote to training.  It’s kind of why I never got back in the saddle when I was first training for an IronMan.  But…..I am feeling different this week.

Yesterday I ran 5 recovery miles (read: slow) on the treadmill and then did an easy 20 miles on the bike.  Nothing too strenuous and I probably could’ve gone longer on both accounts.  I did the 20 miles with a few hills in about 35 minutes.  I am really itching to get out on the road to ride.  I had every intention of grabbing my bike (at my mom’s) this past weekend and cleaning it up so I could ride it but in truth – I won’t have a free weekend day until after Broad Street…so…no biggie.

Anywho…today I plan to ride about 40 miles…taking off from running today.  I’ll run tomorrow morning.  In the mean time…I am going to really think about doing the Philly Tri in June.  I’m just apprehensive about swimming in the Schuykill River (pronounce Sku-kul).

Have a great Tuesday!!!

Leave a Reply

