Challenge Accepted

Posted: April 3, 2013 in Crazy Sexy Diet Challenge, Healthy Eating, Life, Running, Spinning, Uncategorized, Yoga

Greetings All

If you read my most recent post – you know that I have been struggling a bit.  In any case, after talking/texting with my best friend about it, we’ve decided to challenge ourselves to the CrazySexyDiet. This particular diet requires the participant to go Gluten, Sugar, Dairy and (for the most part) Caffeine/Alcohol free.  Those last two are probably going to be the hardest for me.  Maybe not the alcohol part but the Caffeine!  I love me some coffee.  Thankfully it does allow for it in moderation.

And because one challenge isn’t hard enough for me, I’m deciding to give myself a fitness challenge too.  I have always been active so trying to change it up is really what the challenge is.  Right now, if you’ve been reading my blog for a little while, you know that I am an avid runner/cyclist/yogi.  It’s not that I want to stop doing those things – far from it – it’s that I want to incorporate other kinds of workouts.  I’d really like to see what Crossfit is like.  I’d also really like to go rock climbing (I’m lookin at you Busillo! – we have to use our Living Social Deal!).  I want to go hiking and ride outside more.

Fitness Goals:

Spin – 2-3 Times a week

Run 4-5 Times a week

Yoga 2-3 Times a week

One other activity (new) – 1 time a week

The top three things I already do – the bottom one (I figured I’d start small) should be attainable.

I am tired of being in this funk.  I have gained some weight.  I am not happy with that.  What’s more is that this challenge isn’t JUST about weight loss (although I am sure that will come) – I’ve been experiencing some weird tummy issues and I think trying something different will really help me through this.

I think this is going to be very tough for me – especially on account of how much I LOVE bread and LOVE cheese.  BUT – they say, anything worth doing – takes time/isn’t easy/is worth doing right/etc.  I know I can do this.  I know WE (me and Jacks) can do this!

In the next few days I’ll post pictures so I can do some before and after.  I will NOT, repeat, NOT be weighing myself.  I will use my clothes as judgement.  When they start to feel comfortable again – I’ll know it’s working.

And as a DISCLAIMER – for my family that is reading this – I am not going to go insanely crazy over this – I am going to eat healthier and take better care of my body.  This isn’t about losing a ton of weight but to get back to a place where my body is comfortable again.

I am most likely going to start on Monday because 1. The book hasn’t arrived yet, and 2. I’ve already done all of my grocery shopping for this week.

Has anyone else done this?  I’ve read a bunch of different reviews and they are all positive – thoughts?

Comments
  1. bridgetmcgahen says:

    I have not done the crazy sexy diet, but I looked it up and it sounds really cool. I’m vegan myself, but I eat entirely too much carbs. It’d be good for me to try to cut most of those out and eat more raw foods.

    • k8efitz says:

      I always thought going vegan would be tough for me because I really like cheese and eggs but something tells me it won’t be as hard as I think. Wanna take on the challenge with me?? It’ll probably be easier for you since you’re nearly there already.

      • bridgetmcgahen says:

        Yeah! Do I need to buy the book? Or just cut out sugars and breads?

        And going vegan is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I used to eat (when I was vegetarian) bread and cheese in various forms- cheese pizza, cheese enchiladas, Mac and cheese, grilled cheese sandwiches, etc.

        My digestive system is SO much happier now that I cut out cheese. It was much easier than I thought it would be.

      • k8efitz says:

        I bought the book as per suggestion from my friend – she mentioned that there were helpful and insightful tidbits that I could get from the book. I’ve tried to find the “diet” guidelines online and have yet to find them so I figured I’d bite the bullet and just get the book. It’ll be good to have for reference.

        I truly feel like my tummy will be MUCH happier with me once I get rid of cheese and/or processed stuff. I have always had issues with Milk – not so much yogurt but definitely cheeses.

        Let me know if you want a support! We can help each other out 🙂

      • bridgetmcgahen says:

        Ok. I’ll see if they have it at Barnes and Noble after I go to the gym this afternoon.

        Carbs are going to be hard for me to cut out. I am hopelessly in love with my husband’s grandma’s homemade tortillas (we have a big stack in our fridge right now). Temptation!!

        Does the sugar part include fruit or is it just refined sugars like sweets and stuff?

      • k8efitz says:

        From what I gather (just off of blog reviews) it white sugars – so fruits are great.

        And I hear ya on the temptations! I LOVE bread – like no joke. Hopefully the gluten free stuff will satisfy my cravings

  2. Dad says:

    Ok fitz as long as you know how proud of you I am and do understand the frustration you are going thru I promise I will not worry about you (to much).I know as someone who loves you vey much if there is an issue I will be the first to hear about it,I am always here to listen night or day without judgement just remember that.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

