Five Truth’s Friday: Music Edition

Posted: March 29, 2013 in Life, Music, NCAA Tourney, Running
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Greeting’s All!  It’s Friday – wow!  So much for Spring Break!  My how the time does fly! (okay, enough with the exclamation points)

I’m bringing you another edition of Five Truth’s Friday but this time with another twist – Music Edition!  Woo!

First things first, Congrats to my La Salle Explorers.  They lost to Wichita St. last night in the Sweet 16 but I could not be more proud of them and know that I am proud of my Alma Mater for such enthusiasm!

Second, I only got through 5 miles yesterday – I don’t know what was wrong with me.  I just didn’t have “it” yesterday.  I’m gonna try to go for a quick run this morning and then venture out to get my hairs cut (maybe colored, we’ll see).  I am also teaching Spinning tonight so I have to make a new playlist (for tomorrow morning as well).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve mentioned before, I think, how much I LOVE music.  I listen to it in the car, I listen to it at home, I sing when it’s not on, I whistle even if I don’t know the words, I like to try and figure out the timing and remember when certain instruments come in at certain times of songs.  I just love everything about it.  Studies have shown that music can help improve your mood and even fight off depression…I don’t know which ones but they do show that.

1.  I played the Clarinet for 8 years of my life (in school).  I originally wanted to play the Saxophone but the price was too high on buying one so my parents convinced me (some how) that the Clarinet was truly what I wanted to play.  Turns out, I was pretty good at it.  In Middle and High School I was in the All-County Band (first chair).  Yep.  I was in the band – from 4th grade all the way through 12th grade (Truth: I rarely practiced).  I was not in Marching Band – there is a difference.  In 8th grade I taught myself how to play the flute (which in turn meant I could play the sax because the fingering was the same).  I also, playing Clarinet, accompanied the Middle School choir when they sang their amalgam of Les Miserables songs for our Spring Concert.  I was in the Middle School Jazz band where I had one of the only (if not ever) Clarinet solos.  I didn’t win any awards but I think half the battle was getting up and playing in front of a ton of strangers (which was relatively difficult for me when I was younger).  I was not nearly as cool as squidward:

2.  I played the piano growing up – although short lived – and wish I still could play as eloquently as I used to when I was little.  There are some things you wish you never gave up on – playing piano was mine.  I didn’t always love it – on account of the fact that the woman who gave us lessons was kind of scary (Mrs. Heston) and I was somewhat afraid she’d chop of my fingers because I didn’t curve them enough when I played the keys.  I played piano for about 3 or 4 years.  I can’t remember completely but there was a time when my neighbor and I did a duet to a really cool song – of which I don’t remember.  I could still play it if I had to because once you can read music you never forget how.  Also – I never really practiced this either….. 🙂

3.  Growing up, I was only allowed to listen to music from the 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s…..and Madonna and Michael Jackson.  My mother had control of the radio/cd player (we had one of the big hulky players you could connect to your car stereo through the cassette, remember those?) and because she had control, it was her music or nothing at all.  Thank goodness she let us at least listen to Madonna and Michael Jackson or else I would have never learned any other 80’s music (and thank goodness I had friends who listened to 80’s music).  I will say this though – I am ENTIRELY grateful for the music education I got growing up.  Had we not listened to everything under the sun (and I truly mean that) from my Mother’s era, I would not know what REAL music sounds like.  What did we listen to?  In no particular order and/or nor is this all of it:  The Beatles, The Who, Yes, Cream, Eric Clapton, Billy Joel, Elton John, CCR, The Rolling Stones, The Guess Who, Led Zepplin, Pink Floyd, The Moody Blues, Dire Straits, and so many more…I won’t bore you…but you get the idea.  I truly attribute growing up listening to this kind of music to my love for all kinds of music.

4.  My first concert ever (and not necessarily how you think) was Huey Lewis and The News.

Yup – these guys.  I bet you wouldn’t even realize how much you actually know their music and like it too.  They kind of get lost when you describe classic rock.  But….this is how it happened.  My dad and I were at a Phillies game (at the Vet) across the street from the Spectrum  and the game either ended early or the Phillies were losing really badly ( I don’t remember which).  Regardless, my Mom and sister were at the Huey Lewis concert across the street and I guess we thought that they would both end at the same time – only they didn’t.  So..my Dad had this brilliant yet crazy idea that he was going to sneak us into the concert some how.  So, we got to the front door – he talked to the security guy who told us ‘NO’ several times only when he walked away, he left the door open a bit and he disappeared.  My Dad had me in his arms and we snuck in to watch the last 30 minutes of the concert from one of the alcoves that led to the internal arena.  ONLY my Dad would be able to do this – having been blessed with that wonderful Irish brogue – he could sell a ketchup popsicle to a man wearing white gloves…trust me – he could.  And that was my first concert.

Still not sure what song you know by them?  Have you ever seen Back to the Future????

5.  The first REAL concert, in which we paid for, I went to was Tiffany and New Kids on The Block.  I was 8 (I think) and I fell asleep by the time NKOTB came on.  Ha.  I was tired!  My sister and I were obsessed with The New Kids….what girl in the 80’s wasn’t?  We even laugh about the New Kids Christmas (in which every thing we got had something to do with them) to this day.  The concert was at the Valley Forge Music Fair, which is no longer standing, and Tiffany went on first – remember: I Think We’re Alone Now…. – I was so tired by the time The New Kids came on, I think was awake for The Right Stuff and then fell asleep.  Haha.  I know my sister stayed awake the whole time.  (BTW – the next concert I went to, I was 10 – it was at The Vet, to see Genesis – FRONT ROW CENTER – Phil Collins totally winked and pointed at me during You’re No Son of Mine)

Since then, I have actually seen them in concert – last year when they toured with BSB (or maybe it’s a few years ago now).  I was incredibly sick – some sort of severe strep throat but I wasn’t about to not go – they were my childhood fantasy (I LOVED JOEY).

Without further ado – I leave you with some tunes:

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

