Playing Catch-up

Posted: March 28, 2013 in Life, Music, NCAA Tourney, Running, Spinning, Yoga

First off….WHY IS IT THURSDAY ALREADY?!?!! – okay, okay, I know it’s because that’s the day after Wednesday but really – WHY :-/  This week is going TOO FAST!  And some of my friends are like – YESSSSSS it’s already Thursday.  Um, no.

I know, stop whining, right?  I shouldn’t complain.  I got this random week off in March (Spring Break) and normal working people don’t.  I got it.  Truthfully, I haven’t done much in the way of productivity this week – unless you count watching ALL 2 seasons of GIRLS, doing laundry, cleaning up the bottom two shelves of my bookcase, and working out productive.  Yes.  The last one is a gimme.

I forgot to post yesterday so lemme catch you up on my workouts since then.

Tuesday – I ran 8 glorious miles.  Albeit they were on the treadmill because I was being a wuss and didn’t want to run outside (it wasn’t really that cold) but in the process it worked out because I did some hill/interval training toward the end.  I love to wait to do that stuff at the end because I’m already tired and I am forced to push myself.  PLUS PLUS PLUS – Sir Charles Barkley happened to be using the bike right in front of my treadmill (this was taken once I got off the treadmill and was “stretching”):

sircharles

This was my treadmill workout:

Run 6.5 miles @ 7mph pace w/ 1 incline.

1.5 Miles – alternating b/t 1 incline and 6 incline at 7mph and 8.5mph.  I held the 7mph at the 6 incline for a sum total of about 5 minutes and in some ways simulated rolling hills (hence the 8.5mph).  It was amazing – I never knew I could run that fast on an incline like that.  Hopefully this helps me tackle hills better.  I am TERRIBLE at running hills.  I am never winded once I reach the top but I also can’t keep the speed as I’m climbing.  I suppose this workout will help with that.

Yesterday I subbed for a Spinning class at my gym (45 minutes – playlist coming) and then took a very intimate Yoga class (read: 4 people).  It was kind of nice!  The instructor (Robyn) was really able to help me with my alignment and it was nice to have someone help me stretch a little bit more.

Spinning Playlist from Wed 3/27:

  1. Get Up Get Down        3:17    Phillip Phillips
  2. Run the World (Girls)        3:56    Beyonce
  3. My Songs Know What You Did In the Dark (Light Em Up)        3:09    Fall Out Boy
  4. Dubstep Violin- Crystallize        4:59        Lindsey Stirling
  5. Levels (ID) (Original Mix)        5:34    Avicii
  6. Wicked Garden        4:05    Stone Temple Pilots
  7. The Fighter (feat. Ryan Tedder)        3:49    Gym Class Heroes
  8. Let Me Love You (Until You Learn to Love Yourself)        4:14    Ne-Yo
  9. Can’t Hold Us Ft. Ray Dalton        4:18    Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  10. Some Nights        4:37      Fun.
  11. Let’s Go Crazy        4:29    Incubus
  12. Same Love Ft. Mary Lambert        5:20    Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  13. The Show        3:58    Lenka

Today’s plans originally involved going to POWER YOGA at 9:30 but I am in need of a run so I am going to not be a wuss today and run outside and hopefully get in somewhere between 7-8 miles.

Additionally – TONIGHT IS THE NIGHT!!!!!  La Salle plays Wichita St. in the Sweet 16!!!  Let’s go Explorers!  I found this video (actually my friend Reagan found it for me) on Youtube and I couldn’t stop watching it yesterday:

Have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

