Five Truth’s Friday: Sports Edition

Posted: March 22, 2013 in Life
Tags:

Woot!  It’s Friday again!  THANK GOD!  We have Spring Break here next week so I have a week off (good and bad) but I can definitely use the break.

Quick recap of yesterday and then onto the main event – I ran (yes, back to back days – haven’t done this in a few weeks because of my hip) and it felt fine!  5.5 miles.  Nothing too quick – 7.5 mph on the treadmill.  I really need to fit in some faster runs to get myself ready for Broadstreet.  I think I’m just going to do whatever for the Cherry Blossom – lower my expectations a bit.  Anyway, we had our non-profit meeting last night and discussed our upcoming golf outing.  I think this year is going to be really good.  I’ll include details soon!

Most importantly – my alma mater play today!  La Salle!  Wooo!!!!  I think they actually have a really good chance against Kansas St.  If you know anything about sports you know that the other night when they played they were 70%+ in their shooting from the field.  THAT IS AN INSANE NUMBER.  It’s rare that teams get over 60%.  Let’s go Explorers!!!!

OK – Here we go(in no particular order or reason):

1.  I was a competitive cheerleader – OKAY, you can clean up the drink you just spit everywhere.  Reread the above statement.  I was….for eight years.  Recently, the question as to whether or not cheerleading is a sport, has been discussed in the news – in fact, one federal judge said it was not.  Clearly that judge has never actually hoisted someone over their head or done back handspring, layout, back handspring, double layout, back handspring into a full twisting one and a half.  Yes.  That does not require any kind of athleticism.  And when I say cheerleading – I don’t mean just the girls who stand on the sidelines and cheer “Go Team”.  Many of you know I would not be down with that.  I’m talking about this:

In fact, I used to work for varsity and ESPN on these shows.  These young women and men are athletes – they are amazing.  You don’t even know.  Maybe if you’re lucky, I’ll put some picks up of me for a Throwback Thursday 🙂

2.  My Favorite Sport is….duh….SWIMMING.  How can you not like seeing men in little to no clothes that have amazing bodies?  The answer is either you are also a man (in which case, hello, the girls are jacked!) or you are interested in women (and there is nothing wrong with that either!).  Sincerely though – I have a major crush on most of the men on the USA Swim Team including, Nathan Adrian:

What’s that you say?  Where has he been all your life?  SWIMMING.  In fact, there was an article that just came out that said that discusses why swimmers are smarter than you.  Check it out.

3.  If I could move to London and get season tickets to CFC games – I would.  Chelsea Football Club is my EPL team.  I have my dad to thank for that (THANKS DAD!) but truly – they are awesomesauce.  Nowadays when you tell people you root for The Blues they’re like….oh they bought their team…UM…are you going to go there?  Because let’s talk about MAN U (who did it first) and then we’ll get to MAN CITY.  JUST DON’T.  They are NOT the Yankees of the EPL.  They are NOT always the best.  They’re just my team.  And they’re really hot – well, most of them:

Winning the Champions League 2011-2012

4.  I owe my life to the 1980 World Champion Philadelphia Phillies.

Truth – I was born in July of 1981.  The Phillies won the World Series in October of 1980.  You do the  math 🙂  I think in some ways I was always meant to be a Phils fan.  I LOVE MY PHILLIES and everything about them.  More on this in another post.  Such a good story behind the 2008 season.

5.  I turned down a job at ESPN.  I KNOW!  You might be thinking – WHAT WERE YOU THINKING KATIE?!  Again, another long story – one for another time.  But let’s just say – despite giving my Dad close to a coronary because I told him I wasn’t going to take it – I made the right decision.  Although I often think about what my life would be like had I taken the job…..

Anyway – what does everyone else have planned for the weekend??  Anything fun?  Mine is filled with tourney fun!  Toodles!

Leave a Reply

