Goal Setting

Posted: March 20, 2013 in Life, NCAA Tourney, Spinning, Yoga

So…..best laid plans….you know those, right?  Yeah, well lately mine have not been happening.  I’m not entirely sure why but I think I might have an inkling as to the reason.

Is anyone else BETTER at getting things done when they are busy?  I am truly better when I’m busy and I’m not sure why – I think it’s more of a schedule thing.  I like schedules.  I am kind of OCD about them.  I’ll show you all one day.

Lately though, this is me:

And it’s not that I’m doing nothing…I am…but since swimming has ended and I am not coaching lacrosse this Spring, it feels like I am doing nothing.  I am bad about having a ton of free time.  I don’t know what to do with myself.  I used to fill my free time with exercise.  I was very tempted yesterday to do this.

Yesterday I taught spinning, did yoga and came home to just chill.  I had nothing to do the rest of the day and the sun finally broke through.  I thought to myself, I should go for a run it probably won’t be this nice out in a week.  Instead, I took a nap.

Now some of you might read that and say – “that’s great Katie! naps are fantastic”.  One thing you don’t know about me (amongst several others) is that I am a TERRIBLE napper.  I never feel better afterwards:

Yesterday was no exception.  I forced myself to wake up around 3 – because if I kept sleeping I’d miss an appointment and I wouldn’t sleep later that night.

I’ve just had this lethargy about me.  Not sure why.  Maybe it’s the weather….who knows.

So I’ve decided I need to set some goals for myself in order to feel as though I am truly contributing to society.  Next week we have Spring Break so I’ve made a list of things (of which I’ll share soon) to accomplish next week.

Anyone else ever feel like they get more things done when they’re busy or have goals set for themselves?

Today’s tasks involve running, finishing my four tourney brackets (yes, I said four), subbing the second half of the day, and then going out for dinner later.

Happy First Day of Spring/Wednesday!

Comments
  1. I benefit from keeping a schedule, but I’ll admit I am spread way too thin right now. I work full time, head a volunteer organization part time, am training for my first half marathon (ugh), doing a letter writing project, and I keep up with my blog the best I can. It’s too much, and I need a schedule just so I can remember to do things by their deadlines. I am envious of your nappage because I am most definitely sleep deprived.

    • k8efitz says:

      Wowzers! You are most certainly busy (yes, I realize confirming it is redundant….but nonetheless)! When I get to that point (which I am sure you know) I try to just tell myself, ‘do one thing at a time’ and it’ll all happen. You’ve got this. I truly believe we are able to handle a lot more than we realize, even if we feel stretched too thin…otherwise, how humans able to run marathons, ultras, etc? Go get it girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

