Confession

Posted: March 10, 2013 in Life, Music, Spinning
Tags: , ,

I should probably save this for a Five Truth’s Friday but I just can not…..

CONFESSION:  I sing to every song that I hear.

And you’re probably thinking to yourself, “But Katie, what about the songs you don’t know the words to? Or what if it’s a classical song?”

(Momentary pause while I finish laughing)

Truth – even if I don’t know the words or if the song has no words – I will start to whistle to it.  Really.  I am THAT girl.  In fact, I’ve had a boyfriend and a co-worker actually get mad at me because I kept doing this.  The argument with the boyfriend(ex, now) was not pretty.

Honestly – I love music.  I mean.  I REALLY love music.  Everything from Motown to HipHop to Country and Opera.  All of it.  It’s wonderful.  It makes me happy.  I grew up listening to it and grew up playing three instruments (piano, clarinet, and flute).  I can pick out the meter in a song and tell you what instruments are being played.  I remember when certain parts of songs change or the instruments change inflection or speed.  I am THAT girl.

Totally Me

It suddenly dawned on me yesterday when I was driving in my car – this is something that I just do – without thinking.  It wasn’t until my most recent ex pointed it out to me that I had to actively try not to sing along with EVERY song that came on.  What can I say – I learn lyrics quickly and I remember them.  Really.  I do.  And I would’ve been SO awesome on a show like – Name That Tune.  I wish they would bring that one back.  I was really good at it.  Some radio stations will have contests where they put like 3 seconds of 5-7 songs together and if you name all of them in the correct order you win a contest.  I never get through when I call in.  Seriously.

ALSO ME

So what’s my point?  My point is – I sing in my Spinning Classes when I teach too.  Yes.  I have strong lungs.  I’ve been doing this for awhile.  I think some people think I am just not working hard enough.  Definitely not the case…..I just….LOVE TO SING!

Anyone else?

Comments
  1. adambarr1106 says:

    This is not a confession. You have done nothing that you need to confess. It’s a well-deserved episode of self-admiration.

    And me too, btw.

  2. The Savvy Senorita says:

    Me too, I sing everywhere and anywhere and loudly – if I wish too!!!
    I love singing!!
    Bex

Leave a Reply

