One Person

Posted: March 8, 2013 in Life, Music, Running
Tags: ,

You

Soooooooo, the intention yesterday was to run 7 miles.  I only made it through 6.  My legs felt like dead weights or bricks or logs or whatever other example you can think of.  I knew it as soon as I started but pushed through anyway.  I am finding that it is taking me longer and longer to hit my stride when I start out on a run.  Either that’s a sign that I am doing too much too soon OR I should be running longer distances.  Either way – I have yet to figure it out.

Regardless, I pushed through and ended up clocking in with an average pace of 8:19/mile.  Considering the fact that I felt like I was running 9:30 minute miles, I felt this was a win for me.  I also knew that I had another day this week to run.  The weather yesterday wasn’t terrible and truthfully I had been itching to get outside for a run so I braved the 17mph winds with gusts up to 28mph and sucked it up.  It was kind of nice actually.  Anyone else ever have those days/runs?

Last night I went to dinner with a friend before heading over to play cornhole/baggo (depending on where you live).  It’s the beanbag/cornbag toss game.  Still not sure?

Cornhole/Baggo

We ultimately lost but managed to win, on our own volition, in the second of three games.  I have missed so many of them because of other previous engagements so it was nice to do something different for a change.  The only downside was that the game started so late (9:00) and we weren’t out of there until quarter til 10 (which is past my bedtime).  I figure I will suck it up for the one night.

Today’s agenda includes subbing (again) and teaching Happy Hour Spinning(TM)!  I have a few rides I will share from these classes I’ve done.  One is happy hour themed (ie. drinks) and the one I’ll share is from tonight’s class.  I also have to put together one for tomorrow morning’s class too (which will have more classic rock in it because the crowd is a bit older).

So the basis behind my starting quote deals a lot with the fact that things don’t change — people do.  I’ve changed.  Heck, I’m sure if everyone took a moment to examine their life from even just a month ago, they’d see they’ve changed too.  We change every day but basically things stay the same.  I am reminded of one of my favorite quotes: “Be the change you wish to see in the world”~Ghandi

What will you do?  How will you change?  It only takes one person.
Leave a Reply

