My Injury and How Yoga Saved Me, Pt. 3

Posted: March 7, 2013 in Life, Yoga

For the first two parts of my journey – check out Part 1 and Part 2.

I continued to attend power yoga classes on the regular.  I was spinning and doing yoga as often as I could because I didn’t want to lose any of my fitness while being sidelined from running.

I was starting to see the benefits:

  • My upper body was strong and getting stronger.  Although I am/was a swimmer, I have never had much upper body strength.  I think the last time I was able to do a real pull up was in high school (when I really felt like I was in the best shape of my life – with the exception of now).  With all of the pushups and chaturanga’s I was doing, I was getting stronger with each one.  I still struggle to do the crow/crane but again, work in progress.
  • My flexibility and balance was evolving and I was super pumped about it.  It took me about 3 weeks before I could even think about doing bird of paradise and now it’s my favorite pose to do.  I still can not fully extend my leg always but I am getting there.  I love knowing that I have the strength and stability to hold this when I can.
  • I was also starting to feel better – spiritually and emotionally.  I was finding that going to a yoga class was often just as good as going to therapy.  My teachers often have us reflect inward and teach us to ‘let go of that which no longer serves you’ because it is in the past and the past no longer exists.  The only moment that exists is now.  So true.
  • I was starting to feel more a part of a community by attending these classes.  I’ve ventured to a few other studios but ultimately feel most comfortable in my home studio.  There are a handful of teachers I really  like so I actively try to schedule those into my workout regiment.

After a few months of no running, I was starting to realize that if I had to, I could do yoga and spin for the rest of my life and be okay with that.  Yoga is such a powerful workout and it’s also one of those things that you’ll get out what you put into it.  I don’t think I’ve ever come out of a yoga class displeased with what I just did.  I always know that no matter how I start the class, I am clear and ready to take on my next task afterwards.

I needed Yoga.  It allowed me to see that life would be okay and that I would be okay.  I had to let myself heal.  It was meant to happen.  I used to think yoga was for the people who didn’t like to really workout…was I ever wrong.  For the longest time I kept telling myself that I would take a class when I had more time because I really didn’t think it would be all that tough.  The universe took over and showed me that I was wrong.

I encourage people to take yoga for all different reasons but mainly because I tell them how it saved me.

Comments
  1. CultFit says:

    Yoga taught me to simply, surrender to the whims of my mind …. Be well today and please take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

