Sometimes, Running is Hard

Posted: February 27, 2013 in Life, Running

Yesterday I intended on running for about an hour and a half.  Welp.  My feet and legs were not having it.  I only did 6 miles and I mentally had to push myself through the last mile.  It was, afterall, on a treadmill.  The rain that was expected didn’t come til later on that evening but I am glad I opted for the inside run because it was WINDY!

Sometimes, running is hard.  I knew from the beginning that I didn’t really want to run.  I was tired toward the end of my day but the 5 mini-twix’s I had yesterday afternoon told me I should hop on and run anyway.  I am glad I did.  After about a mile I started to feel a little bit better and eventually got into that running trance that I am sure many can relate to.  These trances are where I get my best ideas. Anyone else?

I listen to music when I run and although I am typically also singing or mouthing the words along with the songs, I also tend to let my mind wander to think about other things I have to do.  One of the brilliant ideas I came up with was what I was going to do for my Dad’s birthday.  In June.  Yes, it’s a ways off, but I’m kind of a planner – that’s what I do.

My father is from Ireland.  Yup – brogue and everything.  For the longest time I’ve wanted to get my Dual Citizenship and since my father was born there, I am technically an Irish Citizen already – I just have to go through the paperwork.  I decided I was going to get everything done by his birthday and surprise him with it.  I know it’d make him happy especially since when our family goes over there, my sister and I will get the house and all the land that goes with it.  Oh yes, we have land…..with sheep 🙂

Anyway…the diatribe was basically that despite running being hard for me yesterday, sometimes my best ideas come when I’m tired and not willing to push more but figure out a way to do it.

Leave a Reply

