My Injury and How Yoga Saved Me, Pt. 2

Posted: February 27, 2013 in Life, Yoga
Tags: ,

For the first part of my journey, check out My Injury and How Yoga Saved Me, Pt. 1.

I decided that since I was already an athlete, yoga would be a piece of cake.  I can not even begin to tell you how wrong I was but that I was also so grateful to know that I could still workout and work my body while injured.  Some of the movements were very difficult for me because of the way you have to plant your feet.  For example, the simplest movement of Warrior 1 and Warrior 2 as well as Crescent Lunge were so tough on my left foot so I did what I could.  Almost always I was sore afterwards but I knew I was getting stronger.

For the longest time I wanted to get back into weight lifting but just have absolutely no desire to do it.  I used to be really “in” to lifting.  No joke – I was lifting like 4 times a week – Back/Bi, Chest/Tri, Legs, Shoulders/Back and Abs every day.  When I was in recovery mode from my ED, lifting was the best way for me to refocus my energies on trying to tone and add weight.  Of course, that was nearly 10 years ago now and I am just not really interested in going through all that plus I’d rather combine the two.  I’m very curious about Crossfit btw, but I’ll get into that in another post.

What I found was that yoga was not only a great cardio vascular workout (at least, the classes I was taking) but that it was a strength workout too.  You don’t even realize how many push ups you do in one yoga class – sometimes it can be as many as 100!  I was exhausted but excited that I was going to start building upper body strength and that I was still going to sweat.  The classes I decided to stick to were/are HOT Vinyasa Yoga and Baptiste Power Yoga (also HOT).  I like to sweat when I workout so a warm/hot room was what I wanted.

The first class I took – I wasn’t totally sure what to expect.  I went in sad because I was bummed about my foot and still sad about my breakup.  As I am sure many people can relate to this or have experienced this – I cried basically the whole time.  It was the same for the second and third class.  Actually, for the first few weeks, I cried during most of my classes.  I wasn’t expecting so much inward reflection.  Some of the things that stuck with me were the ideas that yoga was opening me back up as I was so closed off before.  The only problem was that I was releasing so much of my sadness in class that even though I felt “cleansed” by the end of the class, as I was going back out into the world I was open to taking in anything.  For the first month, everything that came back to me after class was sadness (rightly so, since I was still dealing with trying to cope with my break up).  Eventually though, I started to come around and realize that my life would not end, that my foot would heal, that I would meet someone new, and that I would figure out a way to be happy again.  I can not even tell you how true this was…..

Comments
  1. […] For the first two parts of my journey – check out Part 1 and Part 2. […]

Leave a Reply

